Pasta and Second Chances

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2022
John Gargano

By John Gargano

Hello from the world of fine dining. Picture this: In the heart of New York City, a rustic-style trattoria. Some of the most mouth-watering, beautiful, delicious foods you could imagine. Wafting aromas of garlic, tomatoes, and fresh herbs. Picture one dish in particular: succulent, sweet Dungeness crab, delicately laced through home-made spaghetti. Heaven on a plate.

Now picture me. My name’s John Gargano, and I am general manager of that place with that food: Vallata. It’s the sister to Craft restaurant, and both of them are part of Tom Colicchio’s restaurant group. The reason you’re picturing me and that stunning plate of pasta is because that dish is mine. I cooked it up for myself a few years ago, and ever since, it’s been hugely symbolic to me.

John Gargano and a fresh plate of Dungeness Crab Chitarra

Before I tell you why, you should know a little more about me. In 2004, I was a drug addict and I made the biggest mistake of my life. I was given a 30-year sentence for my part in a drug conspiracy. Thirteen years later, President Obama saw something in me that looked like I deserved a second chance, and granted me clemency.

I spent 4th of July in freedom alone in my new place, overlooking the river. After more than a decade of eating prison food, I was finally getting to cook what I wanted, when I wanted it. So that night, I cooked my favorite meal. Hard shell crabs, spread over pasta. I sat on the balcony and watched the fireworks. And suddenly I started crying like a baby, thinking about what they symbolize. I was supposed to die in prison. That was supposed to be my legacy. But I got a second chance.

To help promote the power of second chances, for each bowl served of Dungeness Crab Chittara at Vallata, a portion of the proceeds will go to FAMM. You can eat great and fight for criminal justice reform at the same time. And let me know when you stop by. I’d love to meet you.

John Gargano is the general manager of Craft and Vallata in New York City.

--

--

FAMM Foundation
FAMM
Editor for

FAMM is a national nonpartisan advocacy organization that promotes fair and effective criminal justice policies.