I love what rapper Jack Harlow said about his sobriety

James Julian
Famously Sober
Published in
3 min readSep 6, 2022

--

If you’ve been anywhere near Top 40 radio over the past couple years, you’ve probably heard of the rapper Jack Harlow.

My kids love the pop/hip-hop stations in our city and Harlow’s latest hit, First Class, which samples the Fergie classic Glamorous, plays about once every three to five minutes.

I found out tonight that Harlow, who is only 24 years old, actually decided to quit drinking recently.

I love what he had to say about it, and it gives me hope that young people will one day see booze for what it is and stop letting it get in the way of their goals and dreams.

Jack Harlow. (Photo credit: Bauer-Griffin, CC BY 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Sick of feeling sick

In an interview with Rolling Stone magazine, Harlow said the following: “I’m sick of waking up with a dry throat, sick of feeling bloated, I’m sick of the decisions I make on it.

“I’m in my well-oiled-machine era, because I can see my future right in front of me, and I feel there’s so many people counting on me outside of myself.”

What an insightful thing to say for such a young man who likely has easy access to any vice he could possibly want.

My well-oiled-machine era

--

--