22/03/2020, Prague

Katarina Zrinka Saric
FAMU International
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2020

Things are getting weird. There was an earthquake in Zagreb this morning (M=5.5). Finally, when people started realizing how important social distancing is, now everyone is telling them to get out of their homes and stand outside…and Balkans well, are very chatty people. They don’t believe in social distancing. I mean “we”, I don’t know why I always exclude myself.

I think that was the strangest part of moving to Prague. I would go the store, pass my neighbours, sit beside someone in the tram and no one would start a conversation or even smile at me. It’s funny, because I used to hate how chatty people were back home. I’m not so good at small-talking myself so it would drive me insane, all I wanted was some peace. Marica, I do not need to know about you stupid grandchild’s friend’s sister who broke her leg last week and waited in the emergency room for eight hours.

But now I kind of miss it. I miss hearing about how everything sucks in Croatia. The healthcare system sucks, the government sucks, the education system sucks, the mayor of Zagreb sucks…The mayor actually royally sucks. Last year he shut down the most visited independent cinema in the city. He also tends to think it is more important investing money into fountains and shopping centres instead of…hm…for example hospitals. Hospitals which this morning had their roofs collapse onto patients. Mothers running out with their just born babies on to the streets. I guess I am a true Balkan….complaining about our mayor in these times. It pains me to see Croatia in ruins again so soon. Maybe we should finally stop complaining…

--

--