For Conrod Kelly, FAMU Was a Choice Like No Other

Ayo Suber
famu2020vision
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2020
More info about Conrod can be found at conrodkelly.com

FAMU chose Conrod Kelly. The Kingston, Jamaica born Miami native was introduced to FAMU in high school, when a teacher whose daughter was a FAMU alumna, picked him for a scholarship banquet. “As soon as I walked in, I was asked for my name and GPA, and Dr. Humphries started handing out full scholarships” says Conrod. When Humphries apologized in advance for not pronouncing a name correctly, Conrod’s mom knew it was going to be him. “I didn’t look at another school after that.”

Because Conrod went to a business and finance magnet high school, he chose to stay on that path, joining the 5-year MBA program and concentrating in marketing. Knowing that he wanted to be in healthcare from an early age, he did his undergraduate internships with Johnson and Johnson through the INROADS program and completed a 16 month residency with GlaxoSmithKline between his first and second year of graduate school. “I was fortunate to apply for jobs with eight companies and receive offers from all of them.” After graduation, Conrod went to Philadelphia with GlaxoSmithKline, and later crossed the country to work in California at Johnson and Johnson before returning to Philadelphia where he currently resides.

Conrod has worked for Merck the last 11 years, in Policy/Government Relations with a focus on Social Determinants of Health

Conrod says FAMU prepared him by instilling self-confidence, establishing a strong work ethic, and teaching him important soft skills like public speaking, relationship building, asking great questions. He also credits FAMU’s network: “I’m grateful for the passionate, talented, and outgoing individuals I attended FAMU with. That network has been critical to my success.”

Like many of us, Conrod has his favorite moments at FAMU: “Not sure how appropriate this is, but Gorilla Thrilla 2001 was everything! Being from Miami, partying in a barn was a new experience!” Professionally, placing second in SBI’s Freshman oratorical contest was a highlight. “It was exciting to get a standing ovation from the entire business school, including teachers. Finishing second lit a competitive fire that really pushed my commitment to embody what being an SBI Superstar really meant!”

Giving back to FAMU through the 2020 Vision Campaign was top priority for Conrod. “[I’m] honored to be in a position to give back and to be recognized for my contributions to our illustrious university. I would not be where I am without what FAMU gave to me. It is the least I can do, and I hope to do more of it as I continue to progress in my career.”

In his free time, Conrod sits on the executive board of Big Brothers Big Sisters Independence Region and volunteers with COMPASS to provide pro bono consulting to non-profits. He has a little Hollywood in him too: “I was able to executive produce the film A Touch of Sugar, narrated by Viola Davis, to shine a light on the role diabetes plays in communities of color and premier it at film festivals in our communities.” The film was broadcasted on television, and can be seen at americasdiabeteschallenge.com, which also houses resources to support communities of color battling diabetes.

Conrod and Viola

Conrod enjoys traveling, photography, writing, experimenting in the kitchen, and spending time with his wife, daughter, family, and friends. “SPADES is still an addiction!” he exclaims.

As far as future homecomings are concerned, Conrod is excited to bring his daughters to to the hill along with his sister and nieces who also graduated from FAMU, adding, “I’m looking forward to showing my wife, a Hampton University alumna, what a REAL homecoming is.”

--

--

Ayo Suber
famu2020vision

UI Dev. Writer. Artist and art lover. Everywhere @helloayo