Melissa Mitchell Creates A Purposeful Life

Ayo Suber
famu2020vision
Published in
3 min readApr 23, 2020
Melissa Mitchell

There was no question that Melissa Mitchell would become a Rattler. A native of Miami, she’d attended Homecoming her whole life. Long before she was born, Melissa says FAMU chose her. “My great uncles attended, who influenced my father, who influenced my sisters and I.”

Like many of us, the Public Relations major and Graphic Design minor started her career during a recession. “I adapted to the job climate by teaching myself IT skills, and partnered them with my PR background.” She balances this with a career in art, founding Abeille Creation, and notably partnering with Spanx on the Illuminate Her collection benefiting Black Girls Code.

“My goal was to live a life full of purpose and influence. I didn’t really care how it would happen, I just knew it would.”

Creativity and school spirit runs in the Mitchell family — Melissa’s father designed the anniversary jersey for hundreds of FAMU football alumni. “[It] was pretty dope.” says Melissa. “It is the same image that has stayed with me as I went on to create designs of my own, and now see them on many of the wives of those same football players.”

Melissa wearing Abeille Creation and painting

Melissa calls FAMU the cornerstone of her success story. “Being inside and outside of the classroom at FAMU prepared me for every achievement I have seen since leaving in 2005.” This is why she chose to give back to the 2020 Vision Campaign. “I know the importance of investing in our future. The least we can do is put our money where our heart is. I look forward to giving a BIG check with my closest friends.”

Some of Melissa’s greatest Rattler memories include becoming an AKA, watching her sisters graduate, receiving high honors at every homecoming, meeting with university presidents over the years, and seeing her god daughter become a freshman, “Goodness!” she exclaims, “there are soooooooooooooo many moments that I hold dear…It was an honor and a privilege to become a Rattler.”

In Atlanta, GA where Melissa currently lives, she uses her spare time to her spare time, Melissa creates art, shops, sings, travels, eats, works out and gives back. “ I am a mentor to future and currently Rattlers, I donate to organizations, I give money directly to those in careers in service, I assist my church with PR, and a laundry list of other altruistic efforts.”

As for the class of 2000 in these times of uncertainty, Melissa thinks we should fret not. “We shouldn’t look at this quarantine time as a punishment, but as an opportunity to cultivate our dreams and focus on self development. We will never have time like this again. We must commit to coming out of this greater than before. 20 years ago we walked into an unknown world and made it great. We now have an opportunity to do it again”

.

--

--

Ayo Suber
famu2020vision

UI Dev. Writer. Artist and art lover. Everywhere @helloayo