FF Weekly Newsletter #5: The New Discord Server and FFC’s Co-Editor

Erin Moon (Penname)
Fandom Fanatics
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2022
By Unsplash’s Taylor Foss!

Happy October, everybody! FF and FFC have some great things coming up.

If you’re new here, Fandom Fanatics is a nerdy, fairly new Medium publication (it was made in early August) that offers free editing. It accepts articles about fanfiction, television, film, books, comics and video games.

To start with, there’s a new co-editor of Fandom Fanatics: Create, FF’s sister publication for poetry and stories: Raijin Katō 雷神 加藤 (Pen Name). He followed the directions for applying to this volunteer position and is going to be a great asset.

Another thing we’ve been cooking up is a Discord server! This is part of FF’s new mission of not only striving for growth, but forming a community, as well. If interested, email moonstarsworld@gmail.com with your Discord handle (including your user number) and reason for joining (Ex: You are looking to write book reviews for FF, you’d like to meet more like-minded people, you simply want to nerd out, etc.) When sending this, please use the subject line “Joining the Discord” so I can easily separate these people from the waitlist. The reason I’m not simply posting the link is so we don’t get a large, sudden influx of members. I will likely include the direct link in a future newsletter once we have better security in place; I’m not worried at all because FF’s audience mainly consists of well-meaning dorks (I say this lovingly), but I want this server to be the best it can be for you all and that means a safe, spam-free environment.

If you don’t have a Discord, it’s a free app for making group chats. If you don’t have an account, I recommend downloading it, although you can also use the browser version. Here’s a link to the website: https://discord.com/

Like I’ve said in previous newsletters, FF is going to be more regular starting next week because I’ll have much more time on my hands. I know it’s been several days since an article has been posted and I thank you all for your patience — I’ve been working on the server and teaching Raijin the ropes for FFC on top of going to work this week. I’m so grateful to have the extra help as FF and FFC has been a one-woman-show for quite awhile.

I’m planning on publishing two pieces today — one at the 12pm EST slot and one at 6pm EST. I will email you if your article is selected.

Best,

Erin Moon

--

--