“The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” is Surprisingly Sapphic!

Ehssan El Medkouri
Fandom Fanatics
Published in
4 min readMay 14, 2023

--

To be honest, whenever I see a book trending on booktok, I feel the urge to buy it and give it a go. While we shouldn’t be influenced by others (you know, sheep mentality, etc.), I genuinely like being part of a fandom, especially when it comes to books.

When I started seeing quotes from The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid taking over Tiktok, I just had to see what the commotion was about and I ended up buying my own copy.

Me enjoying The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

In September 2022, I had the immense pleasure of reading the famous book for the first time. I fell in love with it from the start.

Don’t let the title fool you, this isn’t a heterosexual book at all! I think that’s what shocked me the most. I’ve read books with LGBTQ+ plotlines many times but it always was just a side story rather than a main story.

What drove my attention to this book in the first place, alongside the title, is how mysterious the plot actually was. I usually judge books by their cover and never read the blurb on the back. But, when I kept seeing this book on Tiktok, I had to take a sneak peek and it was totally worth it.

When I picked up the book, I was expecting a straight storyline with a couple of boring plotlines and a big twist at the end. But I, obviously, was wrong.

While it did have a BIG twist in the last chapters, the book started and ended on a very high note.

The more I read, the more I fell in love with Evelyn and with Celia. And to be honest, this book spoke to me and awakened something deep within me.

Book cover by Maria Paz

Moreover, Eveyln’s struggle with her sexuality resonated with me and made me feel much closer to her.

Unfortunately, a lot of people see bisexuality as a phase and not as an actual situation. This happened to Evelyn as well in one of the chapters but she worked through it and voiced her concerns.

If you are a member of the LGBTQ+ community, especially if you’re bisexual, I’m sure this book will speak to you as it did to me. At some point, I felt as if Evelyn was experiencing what I (and some of my bisexual friends) went through during the early days of realizing our sexualities.

When asked if she was bisexual, Evelyn simply said that she doesn't allow labels to define her. Beautiful, right?

I don’t want to spoil anything (any further than this), but this was one of the most memorable books I read in 2022 and I know I will read it again before the movie release.

Oh yes, that’s right. The book is going to be adapted into a movie. While I’m not thrilled that Netflix is behind the adaptation, I’m happy I’ll get to see Evelyn on screen.

To say I enjoyed this book would be an understatement. I adored every single word I read. My copy is now full of annotations and written notes. I genuinely refuse to lend it to my best friend because I know she will laugh her ass off if she reads my reactions to every single big moment.

I wish I could somehow forget what the book was about so I could read it again for the first time and experience the raw feelings I had when I first read it.

I also enjoyed the author’s writing style. It was simple yet intense. It definitely kept me on the edge of my seat.

I wish I someday grow into a talented author like Taylor Jenkins Reid. The way she tells stories is highly captivating. It made me fall in love with her and I only read one of her books (so far)!

I want to read more of her books, especially One True Loves and Daisy Jones & The Six since they were both turned into a TV show/movie.

To keep this short, I advise you to read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo before the movie comes out (Even though we don’t know when it’s coming out). It’s totally worth it, trust me.

You can get The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo on Amazon Paperback or Kindle, along with One True Loves and Daisy Jones & The Six.

Also, here’s my true reaction the entire time I was reading the book.

Giddy

Please note that if you order any of the books I mention from Amazon, I may earn a commission as an affiliate. However, my main goal is to provide you with helpful recommendations and insights, and I only suggest books that I believe are worth reading based on my knowledge and expertise. ❤

I hope you enjoyed this book review. I might be making more from now on.

Until next time, go fall in love with Evelyn Hugo!

Also read:

5 Books Written By Women You Should Read in 2023

4 Books to Read After a Breakup

--

--

Ehssan El Medkouri
Fandom Fanatics

I read, write, and embarrass myself online. A 25-year-old passionate published author who wants to travel the world and visit every bookshop possible ✨🖤