Learning VoIP, RTP and SIP (aka awesome pjsip)

Khoa Pham
Indie Goodies
Published in
16 min readMay 9, 2018

--

Before working with Windows Phone and iOS, my life involved researching VoIP. That was to build a C library for voice over IP functionality for a very popular app, and that was how I got started in open source.

The library I was working with were Linphone and pjsip. I learn a lot of UDP and SIP protocol, how to build C library for consumption in iOS, Android and Windows Phone, how challenging it is to support C++ component and thread pool in Windows Phone 8, how to tweak entropy functionality in OpenSSL to make it compile in Windows Phone 8, how hard it was to debug C code with Android NDK. It was time when I needed to open Visual Studio, Xcode and Eclipse IDE at the same time, joined mailing list and followed gmane. Lots of good memories.

Today I find that those bookmarks I made are still available on Safari, so I think I should share here. I need to remove many articles because they are outdated or not available anymore. These are the resources that I actually read and used, not some random links. Hopefully you can find something useful.

This post focuses more about resources for pjsip on client and how to talk directly and with/without a proxy server.

First of all

Here are some of the articles and open sources made by me regarding VoIP, hope you find it…

--

--