One Dark theme and Fira Code font for IDEs

Khoa Pham
Indie Goodies
Published in
3 min readDec 29, 2018

--

Source: hdqwalls.com

A good theme and font can increase your development happiness a lot. Ever since using Atom, I liked its One Dark theme. The background and text colors are just elegant and pleasant to the eyes.

One Dark

Original designed for Atom, one-dark-ui that claims to adapt to most syntax themes, used together with Fira Mono font from mozilla.

There is also Dracula which is popular, but the contrast seem too high for my eyes.

Fira

I like FiraCode font the most, it is just beautiful and supports ligatures.

Alternatively, you can browse ProgrammingFonts or other ligature fonts like Hasklig to see which font suits you.

Theme and font are completely personal taste, but if you like me, please give One Dark and Fira a try, here is how to do that in Xcode, Android Studio and Visual Studio Code, which are editors that I use daily.

Xcode

--

--