--

LIVIN’ THE WAY NATURE INTENDED

CONCERNED TEEN WRITES ABOUT TODAY’S “UNNATURAL” FOOD INDUSTRY

Throughout my adolescent years, I have learned to appreciate nature and everything it has to offer. I have come to the conclusion that nature is the only source of REAL food. Today’s food industries are filled with artificial and processed ingredients.

The foods we as humans consume on a daily basis are filled with unnecessary additives to add volume and add shelf life. These additives affect our health in a negative way, creating numerous amounts of cancers and diseases.

“ The food you eat can either be the safest and most

powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison”

-Ann Wigmore

Foods with additives are mass produced and sold to make a profit with no regard to your health. These cheap synthetic foods are processed and filled with preservatives and artificial ingredients. These foods need minimal preparation before being ready to eat and include chemicals known to harm humans.

Eating too much high fructose corn syrup can lead to insulin resistance, obesity, type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure. A harmful effect of preservatives in food is the potential to cause breathing difficulties.

Eating real foods with simple and whole ingredients, promotes a full affect on the body and brain function. Throughout scientific research fruits and vegetables have been known to benefit the body in a variety of ways. For example, eating carrots greatly enhances blood flow to the eyes while eating walnuts help develop the neurological part of the brain.

When I eat healthy foods, I feel enhanced both mentally and physically. I feel that I can accomplish more and stay focused without being drained by “unnatural” foods. My personal goal is to to share my eating habits with others so they can create a healthy lifestyle similar to my own.

Landon E is a high school student who aspires to promote natural foods and products.

--

--