Buy Low Sell High Weekly Challenge

Josh Kelley
Fantasy Life App
Published in
4 min readOct 17, 2016

This isn’t your typical Buy Low/Sell High column. Here at the Fantasy Life App Blog we take fantasy football to another level because as our name suggests — this isn’t a game, this is real life! Well, it is a game, but we take it way too seriously and keeping with that theme I will be taking this column way too seriously by making it my mission to either buy or sell at least one of my six featured players each week.

Last week’s challenge was to either buy low on Lamar Miller, Jarvis Landry and Julian Edelman or sell high on Martellus Bennett, Ryan Mathews or Davante Adams.

I completed the challenge by trading away Martellus Bennett. Although I’ll admit, it wasn’t really selling high because I paid a lot by sending Spencer Ware, Bennett and Sterling Shepard in exchange for Dez Bryant. In my defense, none of the three players I gave away were in my starting lineup. The trade market in this particular league isn’t too active, so I bit the bullet to upgrade my lineup come fantasy playoffs when I expect Bryant to be healthy and once again a top 10 receiver. A great example of why I recommend focusing on if a trade makes your starting lineup better instead of focusing on who “won” the trade.

Now let’s get to this week’s players that I will challenge myself to either buy low or sell high this week!

Buy Low

Antonio Brown

The Ben Roethlisberger injury definitely hurts Brown’s stock, but he is too talented and will continue to get targets with Landry Jones under center. If Jarvis Landry can be an effective receiver with Ryan Tannehill, you can expect similar numbers from Brown and Jones until Big Ben returns. In Jones’ only complete game last season, Brown finished with six catches for 124 yards. He will be just fine.

Eddie Lacy

Lacy clearly wasn’t 100 percent against the Cowboys and was still able to run the ball 17 times for 65 yards and a respectable 3.8 yards per carry. And did you see him hurdle a defender down field?

Factor in that game flow was against Lacy as the Packers were playing from behind all day and we have a prime buy low candidate. Better days ahead for the big fella.

Carlos Hyde

Similarly to Lacy, Hyde’s 49ers were also playing from behind early and forced to throw the ball against the Bills. Although Colin Kaepernick’s debut was far from spectacular, he did run the ball eight times for 66 yards. Running backs tend to perform better when there is legitimate threat for the QB to keep the ball and run. Not that Blaine Gabbert wasn’t somewhat of a threat already, but he lacks the top end speed that can make a linebacker think twice about committing to the RB.

Sell High

Case Keenum

Odds are that Keenum isn’t owned in your particular league, but in your deeper two QB leagues he does hold value, and could yield useful players in a trade to a QB needy team. Perhaps the Roethlisberger owner might be interested. Keenum tops the list because there’s a great chance what we saw Sunday from him is the best game he’ll ever have.

Terrance West

West’s fantasy production this week was great and this could be a call that I regret, but I continue to believe that Kenneth Dixon will eventually eat into his workload. With only 87 yards on 23 carries this week it was the two TDs that really boosted his fantasy points, and we know TDs can be fluky.

Jay Ajayi

I was reluctant to include Ajayi on this list because I don’t own him in any of my leagues and thus cannot sell high on him in order to complete my weekly challenge. However, his performance forces me to take one for the team, and make sure that you know I would be selling high if I owned any stock. I just don’t trust the Dolphins to continue feeding him the rock when most games they will be playing from behind this season. Combine that with Arian Foster getting healthier and we have an optimal player to sell high.

That’s it for this week’s challenge. Make sure to stop by next week to find out if I’m able to trade away or for any of these players and listen to the Fantasy Life OG Podcast.

Thanks for reading!

Josh Kelley (@joshkelleytime)

The Fantasy Life app is the best sports community app to talk fantasy football, basketball, baseball, hockey, soccer, WWE, MMA, Nascar, golf, eSports, or anything else you would hear about at a sports bar. Find or post funny memes, polls, GIFs, or join chats about your teams. Matthew Berry (ESPN, The Talented Mr. Roto), the face of fantasy football co-founded the app as a place for fans to chat about sports, get fantasy advice, or find sleepers for your team. Find Matthew on the app @matthewberry

Download the iPhone or Android app at fantasylifeapp.com. Also available in theApp Store and Google Play.

--

--

Josh Kelley
Fantasy Life App

Contributor to the Fantasy Life Blog / @joshkelleytime on Twitter & The Fantasy Life App / Co-host of the “Fantasy Life OG Podcast” https://itun.es/us/pdGv-.c