Buy Low Sell High Weekly Challenge

Josh Kelley
Fantasy Life App
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2016

This isn’t your typical Buy Low/Sell High column. Here at the Fantasy Life App Blog we take fantasy football to another level because as our name suggests — this isn’t a game, this is real life! Well, it is a game, but we take it way too seriously and keeping with that theme I will be taking this column way too seriously by making it my mission to either buy or sell at least one of my six featured players each week.

Last week’s challenge was to either buy low on Jordy Nelson, Allen Robinson and Terrelle Pryor or sell high on Matt Forte, LeGarrette Blount and Cordarelle Patterson.

For the first time all season I wasn’t able to complete my challenge. It wasn’t for lack of trying. I couldn’t even find a trading partner in deals not involving players in last week’s column.

I take these challenges seriously, but wasn’t going to make a trade that didn’t make sense for my team. I promise to do better this week!

Now let’s get to this week’s players that I will challenge myself to either buy low or sell high this week.

Buy Low

TY Hilton

The Hilton owner in your league could be looking at the box score this past week and wonder what went wrong. The Colts were playing from behind for most of the game and yet Hilton only managed one catch for 20 yards. I suspect that the casual fan might worry that this is a sign of things to come with the return of Donte Moncrief to the Colts’ starting lineup, however, Hilton was banged up in this game and clearly not himself. I still value Hilton as a low end WR1 for the rest of the season.

Jimmy Graham

Graham owners (myself included) had a disappointing Sunday when you consider that the Seahawks were facing a bad Saints defense in what was billed as a revenge game for Graham. That’s now back-to-back weeks of less than 60 yards receiving for Graham, which could leave his owners curious if his previous three games were simply a mirage of his former self. I’m still a believer. I trust Russell Wilson and Seattle’s offense to turn things around and think that Graham is still a top five TE moving forward.

LeSean McCoy

Buying low on a running back who missed this week with a hamstring injury is a risky proposition, but sometimes you’ve got to roll the dice!

There is a small caveat here. If my team were in “win now” mode, I might consider waiting or finding another deal. McCoy plays at Seattle next week, followed by his team’s bye. There’s a possibility that you could snag him in a trade for even less next week if he has a rough game back, but I might not take that chance if I am able to convince the current owner to be worried about the next two weeks.

Sell High

Matt Forte

You might be experiencing some deja vu as I am doubling down on selling Matt Forte. He had a great match up this week against the Browns that yielded him two rushing touchdowns, but was still only able to muster 82 yards out of 25 carries for a measly 3.28 yards per carry. Bilal Powell, on the other hand, turned only six carries into 76 yards and one touchdown. With Powell cutting into Forte’s touches and a schedule not as forgiving as the last two weeks leads me to selling high on Forte.

Jordan Matthews

Matthews was a stud in PPR formats on Sunday with 11 catches and a touchdown, however, he was only able to convert those catches into 65 receiving yards. He could have good weeks upcoming against the Giants and Falcons, but Seattle and Green Bay does not bode well for him after that. Eleven catches feels like an anomaly for Matthews after only recording three, three, four and two catches in each of the previous four weeks. Find someone in your league that lights up at the 11 catches this week and will give you WR2 value.

Derek Carr

More than 500 yards passing and four touchdowns this week for Carr…I think you know where I’m going with this. It was an incredible performance for Carr and one that I can’t see him repeating this season. Oakland faces off against the vaunted Denver Broncos defense next week and their bye the following week. Now feels like the perfect time to sell high.

That’s it for this week’s challenge. Make sure to stop by next week to find out if I’m able to trade away or for any of these players and listen to the Fantasy Life OG Podcast.

Thanks for reading!

Josh Kelley (@joshkelleytime)

The Fantasy Life app is the best sports community app to talk fantasy football, basketball, baseball, hockey, soccer, WWE, MMA, Nascar, golf, eSports, or anything else you would hear about at a sports bar. Find or post funny memes, polls, GIFs, or join chats about your teams. Matthew Berry (ESPN, The Talented Mr. Roto), the face of fantasy football co-founded the app as a place for fans to chat about sports, get fantasy advice, or find sleepers for your team. Find Matthew on the app @matthewberry

Download the iPhone or Android app at fantasylifeapp.com. Also available in theApp Store and Google Play.

--

--

Josh Kelley
Fantasy Life App

Contributor to the Fantasy Life Blog / @joshkelleytime on Twitter & The Fantasy Life App / Co-host of the “Fantasy Life OG Podcast” https://itun.es/us/pdGv-.c