My husband runs a fantasy football app and doesn’t have an NFL Jersey. Help me pick one.

Melanie Deziel
Fantasy Life App
Published in
4 min readDec 20, 2018

Alright, internet. Here’s the deal. My husband, Yasin, is the CEO of The Fantasy Life App (@yasin on there). He could rattle off the names and stats of just about every offensive player, can predict on-field injury recovery time with near-doctor accuracy, and knows more about the NFL than any one human honestly should.

(I’ve absorbed a lot by osmosis too… Two years ago I couldn’t have named 10 NFL teams. But last weekend, my dad said he thought the Giants would let Eli go at the end of the season, and I found myself passionately explaining why they didn’t have the coaching continuity or a reliable enough replacement franchise quarterback to end the Eli era, and then immediately wondered who the heck I had become…)

And while my husband has a whole list of favorite players, he doesn’t actually have an official NFL jersey to prove it… I want to fix that.

I checked out prices and saw why he probably doesn’t have one… So I went hunting for a deal. Fanatics is offering free shipping on orders over $29 through 1/1/2019 with code “29SHIP,” so I think it’s time.

But here’s the deal… I don’t know which jersey to pick.

I figured I’d share my contenders with the rationale, and let the wisdom of the crowd decide. (Because when has that ever gone wrong?)

In no particular order, here we go:

Travis Kelce

Last season, Yasin’s dad came over to our house to watch his first NFL game. He saw Kelce leap into the endzone and declared that “the superman guy” (Travis Kelce) was his favorite player, so I had to add this one to the list.

This could also make a nice father-son duo gift, and earn me some major daughter-in-law points.

Baker Mayfield

Earlier this year, the two of us watched Hard Knocks together every week, so a Baker Mayfield jersey might make for a nice nostalgic option. He also loves Baker’s story, and is a full time underdog fan. Who is more underdog than the Browns?

Can a jersey be a romantic gift? We just might find out.

(PS: Devon Cajuste was my favorite and I’m still rooting for him. #AmplifyYourself)

Aaron Rodgers

Ok, yes, this is a women’s jersey. This one’s mostly for me, because I think Aaron is adorable. Maybe we can each get one and match!

But, now that I think about it, every time a State Farm commercial comes on, Yasin gives me a stone-faced knowing look. On second thought, maybe don’t pick this one, guys.

Saquon Barkley

If Yasin was in career mode in Madden, he would definitely create a running back, and Saquon is the ultimate RB, who also happens to play for a home team. (He likes any team from NY/NJ.)

Plus, my dad is a huge Giants fan, so this choice could win Yasin some major son-in-law points.

James Conner

Conner is Yasin’s favorite fantasy player this year, (and that’s saying a lot because he genuinely has thoughts on pretty much every single one.)

Conner would be a solid choice on that alone. But on top of that, his cancer survival story is inspiring, and Yasin loves any good story about overcoming obstacles.

These are the contenders. Share your pick or try to convince me with a pick of your own!

Add a comment below or tweet me your choice. And while you’re at it, go download the Fantasy Life App and come join the conversation!

--

--

Melanie Deziel
Fantasy Life App

Brand storytelling keynote speaker & educator, helping marketers tell better brand stories & make better brand content | Founder of @storyfuel_co | INTJ