Karina Montoya Guevara

Karina Montoya G.
FAQ World
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2018

Edited in January 2022*

I’m a Peruvian journalist, born in the era of the typewriter decay — I do know how to use one — and raised in the times of ever-growing Internet bandwidth. I have reported mainly about economics, business, finance, technology and public policy in Peru. In 2018, I moved to the U.S. to pursue a Master of Arts at Columbia Journalism School, which I obtained in 2019.

That same year I also interned at Bloomberg News in New York City, reporting about investing trends in Latin America, and later moved to Washington, D.C., to dive deeper into sustainable investing as a content creator for IDB Invest. In 2021, I became a part of the Great Resignation wave and switched gears to the think tank world, specifically as a reporter and researcher for the Open Markets Institute, where I focus on the intersection of antitrust and media sustainability. (May the Force be with me on that one).

In Peru, my work has been published in national leading publications such as Gestión (2012–2013) and weekly magazine Semana Económica (2015–2018). At Semana Económica I was responsible for the business section, supervising an incredibly talented nine-member team.

Before moving to the U.S., I did extensive reporting about the impact of the Brazilian probe “Operation Car Wash” on construction companies in Peru. Lava Jato, as the investigation is called in Portuguese, caused a dramatic change in my country’s economy and politics, and it involved responses from the Executive and Judiciary branches. Prosecution of alleged felonies committed by both companies and public servants is still ongoing, with some charges being pressed. Sometimes I was invited to TV news shows to comment about my reporting.

When I was younger, I worked in the communication offices of two Peruvian government agencies (Ombudsman Office and the Agency for Environmental Enforcement), and also as an interpreter for U.S.-based companies and their Hispanic clients. Feel free to check that out in my LinkedIn profile. You might even want to follow me there: I usually share insights about Latin America, as well as carefully-selected articles from bright authors and journalists discussing finance and technology trends in the U.S.

I speak Spanish, English and French, and I’m learning Portuguese. Here in FAQ World, I do what I’ve always done for a living: asking questions, getting answers.

*Updated my current workplace, grad school graduation year, and the latest developments of “Operation Car Wash” in Peru.

--

--

Karina Montoya G.
FAQ World

Journalist. Stops: Lima, NYC, and now D.C.| Columbia Journalism School alumna (2019) | Cares about tech disruption, public policy, business, U.S. & LatAm.