Indifference max

Saiprasad Shetty
Far from Salient
Published in
1 min readAug 18, 2019

On my way back a guy was sipping tea on that very spot.

Now one doesn’t expect a dead body in a terminus. How can things possibly go wrong in a terminus? It’s the last stop. Certainly one won’t be crossing the track. There should be no motivation to do that.

But Churchgate possibly had something else in mind this morning. The body was covered in a clean white cloth on a litter stretcher with some blood oozing out of the cloth spreading in patches visible on its surface.

I could see his shoes. Black casual shoes. His bag was resting on his torso.

This is not the first time I encountered a dead body from a rail-track accident. It’s been a while though since I last saw one. I couldn’t get the visuals out of mind. His body covered with the cloth sans his legs was seemingly a thin young figure.

The young guy sipping chai wouldn’t know.

--

--