To the call of the past

Saiprasad Shetty
Far from Salient
Published in
1 min readJul 17, 2022

Last month I visited Trombay where I grew up. This Madrassa^ is situated right behind the house that faced our house there. It seemed they have expanded the facility. It has been more than a decade since we left the place. I recall the muezzin then calling the morning (or otherwise) azaan in his cacophonous voice.

Once in a while, we would get up for school not because of our natural alarm i.e. Amma (half of her life’s sleep was compromised in ensuring my brother and I reached school on time and not before we have our breakfast and carry our tiffin/s) but courtesy the seemingly younger muezzin.

This was unlike the azaan coming from Noor Masjid, the biggest mosque in the vicinity where the muezzin’s call would almost sound melodious. Anyway, I have no idea what the scene is now?

It is likely that the then Noor Masjid muezzin is no longer performing that duty. He was already feeble while we were staying in Trombay. I am more curious about the Madrassa though. Couldn’t find out. Next trip maybe.

--

--