Photo by Anton Oussik of the author swimming at the Seven Eye Bridge, Orgiva

The river takes it all

Aimee Fenech
Farm Life

--

A great big shower finally washed off all the dirt which had been accumulating on the leaves for months. The temperature dropped from above 40 to a tolerable low 30s.

As is my habit, at the first sign of rain and with the first drops I put on my signature yellow boots and my rain coat and go outside to check the acequia. Any blockage there could mean flooding behind the house or damaged terraces.

There are many pleasures of living on the land but I must say the first rains are one of my favorites despite the often muddy legs and soaking wet clothes I end up with whilst clearing away debris.

In the summer in the nearby town of Orgiva there’s a very beautiful bridge that goes over the Guadalfeo river called aptly the seven eye bridge.

The bridge itself evokes such beautiful memories of first arriving to the area that every time I cross it I find myself smiling.

Every day the goat herders cross the area with their herd as they graze in the green growth on the river bed.

There’s nothing like the sound of a flowing river to sooth one’s soul and this one comes with a little picnic area. The river becomes a trickle in the summer but the locals dig into the bed to make a swimming area deep enough for a swim. It fills the area with life as caravans stop nearby and families with children…

--

--

Aimee Fenech
Farm Life

#permaculture practitioner, teacher and designer, co-founder of #ecohackerfarm, writer, project manager and activist get in touch mail@aimeefenech.com