Chasing Reflections

A woman’s journey from mystery to magic I Entry Two

Hima
Fascinate Me Fiction
3 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Photo by Maksim Smirnov: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-in-black-dress-standing-in-the-forest-9150297/

This is the second installment in the series. You can find part one linked below.

Standing over my wracked boat, half of which is still submerged in water, I run my expectant eyes over the seashore.

The island appears smaller than my home, yet much greener. It’s hard to see what lies beyond foliage so dense.

I untether the rope and watch the waves claim what’s left of the boat, sending it on its final journey. And with that, I turn around to walk toward mine.

As I reach the brim of the forest, my heart starts to pound in my chest. From where I stand, all I feel is the piercing dampness warning me to reconsider my next step.

Instinctively, my hand finds its way to my heart —

If two years alone on an undiscovered island have taught me anything, it’s that the only way is always through.

“We have to do this,” I whisper to myself.

“We can’t stop now. Not when we’ve come so far.”

With a sigh, I step into the woods and the unknown.

Cautiously making my way through the forest, I’m greeted by a thick blanket of mist that spreads across the woods, engulfing everything in its path. The deeper I explore, the lighter my steps feel, my frame seemingly floating among the majestic trees as I witness the day turn into night, with only fireflies to light my way.

An eerie silence hangs in the air, like an unheard distant melody echoing in the farthest corners.

I tilt my head, straining to listen closely — “hmmm.. umm.. hmmm.”

“umm..hmmm…”

Beneath my feet, the ground has given way to a muddy swamp, enveloping the forest in an unforgiving coldness.

Wrapped in the chilly darkness, it’s hard to tell day from night.

My feet ache inside these wet shoes, and I can barely keep my eyes open.

I’m tired, and my throat burns for water.

Panic begins to set in as I fear I may never find my way out of this dark and wet maze.

Frantically, with every ounce of strength left in me, I pull through the herbage. With desperation that has grown almost painful, I drag my lifeless feet through the sticky mud.

“A few more steps,”

“Just a few,” I prod myself mentally, pushing my exhausted body further.

“hmmm.. umm.. hmm.”

“One more step.”

“Another.”

And finally, I step into the sunlight.

https://pixabay.com/photos/log-cabin-cottage-house-home-1886620/

The forest opens into a clearing before me: a vast stretch of grassland spreading as far as I can see, a hillock strangely settled in the middle and atop it — an old wooden cabin.

Gawking at the startling sight, I struggle to make sense of it all when everything starts to spin around me.

Something turns inside my stomach, and suddenly-

Everything goes black…

.

.

The journey continues in the third and final installment….

--

--

Hima
Fascinate Me Fiction

Writer || Solo traveller || Tarot Reader || I think profoundly and feel deeply; that's what I write about.. Here' my blog - https://explorative-soul-hima.com/