Dress shirts are great no matter what you call them.

Jack Russillo
FASHIONBITS
Published in
4 min readApr 9, 2015

--

Girls can spend hours in front of a mirror, constantly second-guessing what blouse goes well with a certain pair of pants. Guys, on the other hand, usually just throw on whatever doesn’t smell too awful.

When it comes to choosing my outfit for the day, I usually pick a pair of pants or shorts and then everything else can be thrown together pretty easily. I try to accommodate for any particular weather conditions by adding a sweatshirt or jacket.

Regardless of the time of year or the weather outside, I usually end up wearing a dress shirt or, as I like to call it, a button-up.

Growing up in Washington in the Pacific Northwest, this may seem very stereotypical for me to do. But guess what — I don’t care.

This guy looks way too cool and comfortable to be a lumberjack.

Button-up shirts are so diverse and varied that they can be a crucial part of any outfit. If it’s below freezing and blowing 60 mph winds, then a flannel button-up will make for a fine base layer. You know, like a lumberjack. If I’m going out to a formal dinner or a date, I can wear a well-designed button-up made of a nicer material.

There’s plenty of kinds of button-ups for any activity/weather condition and anything else in between too, so don’t fret.

Plus, who doesn’t want an extra pocket on their chest? It’s simply way more handy than not having one.

Because I’ve grown to appreciate button-up shirts, I’ve also accumulated a good amount of them throughout the years. Because of this, I now have a solid collection of shirts to choose from whenever I want to wear one, which ends up being most days.

Just a few of my favorite button-up shirts…

Since I’m someone who likes to look my best (look good, feel good, right?), I try to make my clothes selection fit my lifestyle and personality. This means having clothes that are visually appealing and comfortable. Luckily for me, that’s exactly what button-up shirts are.

From a plain, mono-colored shirt, to the more traditional plaid pattern, to random objects scattered around, a button-up shirt can depict practically anything you can imagine. Personally, I tend to prefer the more plaid-like patterns that incorporate more exciting colors. I also usually choose to “rock them” in an un-buttoned fashion to allow for maximum comfort and maneuverability.

Un-buttoned button-ups are the way to go when it comes to dress shirts.

One of the best parts about the diversity of dress shirts is that they can go well with almost any outfit. Throw on a silk dress shirt along with some pants, and you’re business-casual or fancy-casual, depending on the quality of the shirt.

Throw on a flannel button-up with some shorts, and you’re just casual!

Basically, button-up shirts are like classier versions of those normal, buttonless, long-sleeve t-shirts; they can be used for almost any scenario.

The Rating: 71/100

Pro: Second only to socks, button-shirts are probably my second favorite article of clothing. They’re awesome, period.

Con: They’re nothing too special, just a more complicated t-shirt.

About me:

My name is Jack Russillo and I’m a college freshman who just moved to the big city (Seattle) from a small town in the middle of nowhere. Every day I rate something on a scale of 1 to 100.

Comments, criticisms, your own rating, or any other topics you’d like me to rate? Tweet me @jackrussillo or follow me on Medium to get my daily posts.

Feel free to hit the “recommend” button if you liked my post so that others may find it and enjoy it as well.

See the rest of my ratings here:

--

--

Jack Russillo
FASHIONBITS

A Pacific Northwest archipelagan exploring the outdoors and spreading culturally-respectful and sustainable perspectives on the preservation of natural spaces.