Alexander McQueen — l’enfant terrible

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readOct 6, 2016

Alexander McQueen is a British fashion house founded by Alexander McQueen in 1992. At the start, the fashion company utilized controversial marketing tactics to establish the brand name. The runway shows for Alexander McQueen have been extremely unconventional.

Alexander McQueen himself has produced 36 collections for the Alexander McQueen design house.

In 2000, Gucci took controlling interest of the brand, and made Alexander McQueen the creative director. After Gucci took over, they opened stores in New York, Las Vegas, Los Angeles, Milan, London, and Beijing.

In 2005, Alexander McQueen started its first menswear collection. In 2008, a “pre-Spring” collection was launched.

The brand launched a lower priced line called McQ in 2006, which carried both men’s and women’s ready to wear, and accessories.

Alexander McQueen committed suicide in 2010.

Pina Ferlisi was appointed creative director of the McQ collection after McQueen’s suicide. Sarah Burton took over as creative director for Alexander McQueen.

The Story of Alexander McQueen:

“Of course I make mistakes. I’m human. If I didn’t make mistakes, I’d never learn. You can only go forward by making mistakes.”

“I came to terms with not fitting in a long time ago. I never really fitted in. I don’t want to fit in. And now people are buying into that.”

“Really, what I’m aiming for is world domination!”

“I always wanted to be a designer. I read books on fashion from the age of 12.”

“I’m not interested in being liked.”

“I never look at other people’s work. My mind has to be completely focused on my own illusions.”

“Fashion should be a form of escapism, and not a form of imprisonment.”

“There are only a handful of designers that influence other designers, and I have to keep one step ahead of the game.”

--

--