Chanel Iman — The Gladiator

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readMar 31, 2017

Chanel Iman was born December 1, 1990 in Atlanta, Georgia. She started modeling at age 12 in LA, and truly emerged into modeling when she entered the Ford Supermodel of the World contest and finished third. She soon signed with Ford and her career blossomed.

She has appeared in editorials for Allure, Harper’s Bazaar, V, Pop, i-D, Elle, Vanity Fair, and Vogue.

Chanel Iman has walked the runway for: Tom Ford, Gucci, Balenciaga, Max Mara, Versace, Yves Saint Laurent, Oscar de la Renta, Stella McCartney, DKNY, Moschino, Tommy Hilfiger, Jason Wu, Dior, Michael Kors, Hugo Boss, Ralph Lauren, Dolce & Gabbana, Burberry, Kenzo, Hermés, Louis Vuitton, Alexander McQueen, Roberto Cavalli, Marc Jacobs, DSquared2, John Galliano, and Bottega Veneta.

She has appeared in campaigns for: Jean Paul Gaultier, Dolce & Gabbana, Ralph Lauren, DKNY, Bottega Veneta, DSquared2, Dennis Basso, Swarovski, Benetton, J. Crew, Barneys New York, Saks Fifth Avenue, Lord & Taylor, GAP, Express, Mizani, and Victoria’s Secret.

She walked for the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show in 2009–2011 and has appeared in several campaigns for them.

Chanel Iman In Person:

Chanel Iman Quotes:

“I’d love to do a lot more acting. I’m very grateful for anything that comes my way, but in the meantime, I just focus on being the best that I can be as a person and as an actress. I work on my talent every day with my acting coaches, and hopefully something will come through.”

“Doing an editorial for Italian Vogue, or French Vogue, or American Vogue, it puts you back on the map. I just feel like if I continue to work with great photographers and great stylists, that I won’t ever leave the fashion industry. I always want to have one foot in the door. This is where I was raised, basically, so I know it.”

“I say keep your family close. Have confidence within yourself. For me, I survived the industry because my family was really tight. I’ve had really bad, bad experiences, and really good ones as well, but when I felt lonely, they were there to pick me back up. My family’s definitely helped me to fight for the things that I dreamed of.”

Notable Work:

Jean Paul Gaultier, Dolce & Gabbana, Ralph Lauren, DKNY, Bottega Veneta, DSquared2, Dennis Basso, Swarovski, Benetton, J. Crew, Barneys New York, Saks Fifth Avenue, Lord & Taylor, GAP, Express, Mizani, and Victoria’s Secret.

--

--