Cindy Crawford — The Superstar Model

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readAug 8, 2016

Cindy Crawford was born February 20th, 1966 in DeKalb, Illinois. She entered the Elite Model Management’s Look of The Year contest, was the runner up, and was subsequently picked up by the Chicago branch of Elite. In 1986, she moved to New York City and signed with Elite Model Management in New York.

She was one of the biggest models of the 80’s and 90’s, appearing on the cover of hundreds of the top fashion magazines, including: Vogue, W, People, Harper’s Bazaar, Elle, Cosmopolitan, and Allure.

Cindy Crawford has appeared in ad campaigns for many of the top fashion companies, including: Versace, Calvin Klein, Escada, David Yurman,Oscar De La Renta, Balmain, Hermes, Ellen Tracy, Valentino, Bally, Liz Claiborne, Hervé Leger, Halston, Anne Klein, Isaac Mizrahi, Blumarine, Guess, Ink, Gap, Revlon, Omega, Maybelline, Clairol, Pepsi, and Ripley.

Her runway work includes walking for: Chanel, Versace, Dolce & Gabbana, Christian Dior, Calvin Klein, Ralph Lauren, Michael Kors,Todd Oldham, DKNY, and Valentino.

Quotes:

“I want my home to look good, feel good, and smell good. I want it to be inclusive, to reflect the people who live there.”

“Even in normal life, I’m not the skinniest model.”

“The good thing about people underestimating models is that the bar is set so low, you tend to impress people more easily.”

“Nobody in my family ever thought that I’d a be a model.”

“I just want to be a nice girl from the Midwest — I don’t want to have to act like a heavy to be taken seriously, and I resent that I have to be so pushy and political sometimes just to do my job.”

“How many girls, models or not, are secure about their bodies? I think I’m more realistic about what to expect of myself now. I also have a lot of other things than modeling going on in my life that I’m proud of.”

“I’m not a fan of fillers at all. If you’ve gone 35 or 40 years without big lips, I don’t think it’s time to start plumping them up artificially.”

Cindy Crawford In Person:

Versace, Calvin Klein, Escada, David Yurman,Oscar De La Renta, Balmain, Hermes, Ellen Tracy, Valentino, Bally, Liz Claiborne, Hervé Leger, Halston, Anne Klein, Isaac Mizrahi, Blumarine, Guess, Ink, Gap, Revlon, Omega, Maybelline, Clairol, Pepsi, and Ripley

--

--