Gigi Hadid — The Social Media Supermodel

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
3 min readAug 12, 2016

Gigi Hadid was born April 23, 1995 in Los Angeles, California. Her modeling career started very early, at the age of 2 and began by modeling with Baby Guess. In 2011, Hadid signed with IMG Models.

In 2012 she was was named to be the face of Guess. In 2014, Hadid began her career on the runway during New York Fashion Week for Desigual. In the same year, she was featured in Tom Ford’s Eyewear campaign.

In 2015 she signed with Maybelline, and walked for designers: Marc Jacobs, Chanel, Michael Kors, Jean Paul Gaultier, and Max Mara.

Also in 2015, Gigi Hadid made her debut in the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show.

In 2016, she walked the catwalk for: Versace, Chanel, Elie Saab, Anna Sui, Miu Miu, Balmain, Diane Von Furstenberg, Tommy Hilfiger, Fenty x Puma and Giambattista Valli.

Gigi Hadid has appeared in campaigns for: Tom Ford F/W 2014, Tom Ford Velvet Orchard Fragrance, Tom Ford Beauty 2014, Guess, Versace, Balmain F/W 2015, Max Mara, Stuart Weitzman, Topshop, Seafolly, Tommy Hilfiger The Girl Fragrance 2016 and Tommy Hilfiger F/W 2016.

She has also been the named as the face of Penshoppe, and co-designed a “capsule collection” with Tommy Hilfiger called “Gigi by Tommy Hilfiger”.

Gigi Hadid has been featured as the cover model on: Vogue (United States, Spain, Australia, Brazil, the Netherlands, Britain, France, Germany, Italy, China), Schön! Numero, W Magazine and Teen Vogue as well as Elle Canada and Harper’s BazaarMalaysia. Hadid has also shot editorials for VMAN, Elle, Grazia, Cleo, Vogue, Sports Illustrated, Paper magazine, Vanity Fair and V Magazine. She was on the cover of Galore magazine and Carine Roitfeld’s CR Fashion Book.

Quotes:

“I always say, ‘Eat clean to stay fit; have a burger to stay sane.’”

“I post pictures that I want to post and say what I want to say. If that’s three times a day or three times per month, then whatever.”

“I’m always tan and blonde and don’t really fit into New York. I’m a California girl, even if I try and cover it up with leather.”

“I’m really lucky to have a lot of friends in fashion. I don’t know if that’s common, but I just get along with a lot of people. My really close friends are Ireland Baldwin, Kendall Jenner, Lily Aldridge and Devon Windsor.”

“My mom was a model, so she’s been really good about giving me tips on how to navigate behind the scenes — like the importance of being nice to everyone on set and remembering people’s names, to how to be a positive part of the photo shoot and stuff like that.”

“As long as they want me modeling, I’ll be here. But I hope to maybe have a cooking show one day or host a talk show when I’m older and have a developed brand. That would be really fun.”

Gigi Hadid In Person:

Notable Work:

Tom Ford F/W 2014, Tom Ford Velvet Orchard Fragrance, Tom Ford Beauty 2014, Guess, Versace, Balmain F/W 2015, Max Mara, Stuart Weitzman, Topshop, Seafolly, Tommy Hilfiger The Girl Fragrance 2016 and Tommy Hilfiger F/W 2016

--

--