Irina Shayk — The Modern Supermodel

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readOct 13, 2016

Irina Shayk was born January 6, 1986 in Yemanzhelinsk, USSR. She started in modeling while she attended a beauty school, discovered by a local modeling agency. She entered the Miss Chelyabinsk beauty contest in 2004 and won.

She was named the ambassador of the brand Intimissimi in 2010, after representing the brand for several years.

Irina Shayk is well known for appearing in the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue, starting in 2007. She has also had major contracts with Beach Bunny Swimwear, Guess, Victoria’s Secret, Lacoste, Cesare Paciotti, and Morellato.

Irina Shayk has appeared in campaigns for Givenchy, La Perla, Roberto Cavalli, La Senza, Morellato, bebe, Lord & Taylor, Lacoste, Armani Exchange, Guess, Saks Fifth Avenue, Victoria’s Secret, L’Oréal Paris and Avon.

She has walked for fashion companies, such as: Miu Miu, Bottega Veneta, Marc Jacobs, Moschino, Versace, Givenchy, Diane Von Furstenberg, Giles Deacon, Philipp Plein, and Mango.

Irina Shayk has appeared in, or on the cover of fashion magazines, such as: Vogue (Spanish, Mexican, Brazilian, Turkish, Japanese, German and Russian editions), Numéro,W, Maxim and international editions of Harper’s Bazaar, GQ, Glamour, Vanity Fair, Vs.,Interview, Elle, Marie Claire, Annabelle, Bolero, Woman,Twelv, Jalouse, Paris Capital, and Cosmopolitan.

Irina Shayk In Person:

Irina Shayk Quotes:

“I hadn’t planned to be a model. It just happened by pure chance. I went to a beauty school with my sister, and I got discovered pretty late. I was discovered when I was 20–21. I didn’t speak English very well, not that I do now. It’s a little bit better but not so perfect. So I went to Paris, and I started to learn English, and take my first pictures for my portfolio. So it was a pretty hard time, you know. But my mom was very supportive, and here we go. Ten years later, I’m here.”

“I mean, I’m Russian, so I never imagined that I would be with the swimsuits. Coats and warm clothes for me sounds a little better, because I grew up and was raised in the snow. But I love my job, so I wouldn’t say it was hard for me to do swimsuit modeling. Maybe you have to stay in shape, and travel — a little jet lag. But, everything is easy. I’m pretty lucky.”

Notable Work:

Miu Miu, Bottega Veneta, Marc Jacobs, Moschino, Versace, Givenchy, Diane Von Furstenberg, Giles Deacon, Philipp Plein, and Mango

--

--