Laetitia Casta — The Rebel

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readAug 23, 2016

Laeititia Casta was born on May 11, 1978 in Pont-Audemer, Normandy, France. She was discovered during a family vacation in Corsica by photographer Frederic Cresseaux when she was 15.

Her first major campaign was becoming the brand ambassador for L’Oreal Paris in 1998. Laeititia Casta is best known as the Guess? Jeans model.

She has been involved with campaigns for: Guess? Jeans, Tommy Hilfiger, Miu Miu, Pepe Jeans, Alberta Ferretti and XOXO.

Laetitia Casta has been on the cover of over 100 major fashion magazines, including: Victoria’s Secret catalogs, Rolling Stone, Harper’s Bazaar,[8] ELLE magazine, and various International versions of Vogue magazine.

For four years she walked the catwalk for the Victoria’s Secret Fashion show, in 1997, 1998, 1999, and 2000. She also appeared in three Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issues.

Laetitia Casta is the face of several fragrances: Chanel’s Allure, Givenchy’s Forbidden flower, Cacharel’s Promise, Bulgari’s BLV II, Ralph Lauren’s Notorious, and on 15 June 2012 D&G’s Pour Femme. She has walked the runway for Louis Vuitton and Robert Cavalli.

Quotes:

“Real beauty is to be true to oneself. That’s what makes me feel good.”

“It is when I am working that the real me comes out — that is when I am the most real and honest.”

“It’s always fun to immerse yourself in a different time period.”

“What is interesting about me isn’t that I am a mother, it is who I am. I love my family, but if I just talk to you about being a mother, it’s boring. I am sorry, but it’s reducing who I really am, and it’s really boring.”

“I don’t understand why women journalists always ask women about motherhood? It’s far more important and interesting for women to talk about their work, their thoughts, their creativity and their individual identity.”

“And there is a beautiful thing which is wonderful, to look like a woman, not a green bean.”

“I didn’t like the idea of changing myself for the industry. I felt to have my teeth straightened and bleached and to starve myself to change my body was not respecting who I was.”

Laetitia Casta In Person:

Notable Work:

--

--