Linda Evangelista — The Perfect Model

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readApr 5, 2017

Linda Evangelista was born in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada on May 10th, 1965. At the age of sixteen, Evangelista was discovered by a talent scout from Elite Models New York at the Miss Teen Niagara Contest.

In 1984, Evangelista moved to New York to take her career to the next level. Her modeling career moved along at a slow pace until in 1988, the photographer Peter Lindbergh suggested that she cut her hair into a short “bob” style.

At first, the change of hair style caused a very negative effect in her modeling career, with many canceled jobs. However, after a short period of time, the new look created a buzz, and launched her stellar modeling career.

In 1997, she received a special lifetime achievement award at the VH1 Fashion and Music Awards. She retired from runway shows in 1998, but Evangelista returned to modeling in 2001, and has continue to work.

Quotes:

“I don’t get out of bed for less than $10,000 a day.”

“When people ask how have I kept on top, I have to say with the help of every photographer, make-up artist and hairdresser I’ve ever worked with. “

“On days when I do not work, I am working on my image. I have to hit the gym. I have beauty appointments. I have to work toward my next job and maintaining my image, just like an athlete.”

“As long as designers want to dress me, photographers want to take my picture and companies think my face will help their products, then I won’t go anywhere until they’re done with me. “

“When I started in the business, I was told I had three good years in me. “

Linda Evangelista In Person:

Notable Work:

Valentino, Dolce & Gabbana, Gianfranco Ferré, Ralph Lauren, Yves Saint Laurent, Azzedine Alaïa, Oscar de la Renta, Giorgio Armani, Thierry Mugler, Claude Montana, Donna Karan, Jil Sander, Jean Paul Gaultier, Alberta Ferretti, Isaac Mizrahi, Escada, Calvin Klein, Salvatore Ferragamo, Max Mara, Perry Ellis, Chloé, Comme des Garçons, Bill Blass, and Herve Leger.

--

--