Milla Jovovich — Zombie Hunter, Supermodel

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readAug 22, 2016

Milla Jovovich was born December 17th, 1975 in Kiev, the Ukraine. At the age of 5 her family left what was at the time the USSR and immigrated to London, and then onto Sacramento, California, and finally settling in Los Angeles.

She began modeling at the age of 9. She posed for her first magazine cover, for the Italian fashion magazine Lei, at the age of 11. Early on, Jovovich was a favorite of top fashion photographers such as Richard Avedon, Peter Lindbergh, and Herb Ritz. Her modeling career started to take off with covers on Vogue and Cosmopolitan.

Milla Jovovich has been featured on the covers of more than 100 leading fashion magazines, but modeling was never her primary goal, which was acting.

Jovovich has worked on campaigns for: Banana Republic, Christian Dior,Damiani, Donna Karan, Gap, Versace, Calvin Klein, DKNY, Coach, Giorgio Armani, H&M, L’Oréal, and Revlon.

In 2006, Milla Jovovich signed a contract with the Spanish fashion company, Mango. In 2012 she was signed to be the face of Jacob & Co.

Quotes:

“I’m not really easy to live with! There needs to be unlimited patience and unconditional love. Men I’ve known before loved my independent spirit and were proud of my success, to the point that they’d become jealous of the time I devote to my career.”

“There is all this controversy that women and girls are too skinny or too overweight. I say to just do martial arts and everything will be okay. You will tone up your body and find a confidence you can’t find just sitting around watching TV and hanging out with friends.”

“I thought that being popular in school was just so pathetic. I knew I had a future over and beyond the horizon of that school.”

“From childhood my mother had me examining Robert Mapplethorpe’s style and Egon Schiele’s framing — that’s what modelling is about.”

“Before, being a model, it was just a job, and I was making fun of it. But today, I take my career more seriously. The fact that a reader may buy an Armani item because she’d seen it on me in a magazine is very important to me. So much so that I intend to launch my own label.”

Milla Jovovich In Person:

Notable Work:

Banana Republic, Christian Dior,Damiani, Donna Karan, Gap, Versace, Calvin Klein, DKNY, Coach, Giorgio Armani, H&M, L’Oréal, Revlon

--

--