Paulina Porizkova — The European Sophisticate

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readSep 30, 2016

Paulina Porizkova was born April 9, 1965 in Prostějov, Czechoslovakia. When a friend sent pictures of her to Elite, she was noticed by John Casablancas, and had her immediately come to Paris to begin her modeling career. Paulina Porizkova’s modeling career was doing very well in Paris, but when she appeared in the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue in 1983, her career exploded. She appeared on the cover of the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Issue in 1984, and also in 1985.

She appeared on the cover or in an editorial for most of the top fashion magazines, including: French, German, Australian and American Vogue, Elle, Harper’s Bazaar, Self, Cosmopolitan and Glamour.

Paulina Porizkova has been featured in fashion campaigns for: Chanel, Versace, Hermes, Christian Dior, Oscar De La Renta, Mikimoto, Perry Ellis, Laura Biagiotti, Anne Klein, Ellen Tracy, Escada, Barneys New York, Ann Taylor, Estée Lauder, and Revlon.

Paulina Porizkova In Person:

Paulina Porizkova Quotes:

“Beauty, unlike the rest of the gifts handed out at birth, does not require dedication, patience and hard work to pay off. But it’s also the only gift that does not keep on giving.”

“I have now spent over a year trying to figure where in the workplace I belong.”

“I will continue to be intelligent, I vowed, no matter how beautiful I become.”

“My first recognition of age setting in was exactly on my 36th birthday. I have no idea why, on this day of all days, I looked in the mirror and realized my face no longer looked young.”

“When I model I pretty much go blank. You can’t think too much or it doesn’t work.”

“Now, I don’t actually know the exact cut-off age where beautiful ceases and ‘must have-once-been-beautiful’ begins. It’s true it’s not forty-five. I can still get attention when I try really hard, even if it’s greatly reduced.”

Notable Work:

Chanel, Versace, Hermes, Christian Dior, Oscar De La Renta, Mikimoto, Perry Ellis, Laura Biagiotti, Anne Klein, Ellen Tracy, Escada, Barneys New York, Ann Taylor, Estée Lauder, and Revlon.

--

--