Stephanie Seymour — The “It” Girl

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readAug 18, 2016

Stephanie Seymour was born in San Diego, California on July 23, 1968. Seymour began as local model at the age of 16, and then in 1983 she was a finalist for the Elite Model Management “Look of the Year” modeling contest in its first year of operation.

During the early days of Victoria’s Secret mail order catalog and its retail outlets, Stephanie Seymour was very prominently featured on its pages. Seymour’s next breakout was her first appearance in the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue in 1988. She also appeared on the cover of Vogue in the same year with a photo taken by noted fashion photographer, Richard Avedon.

Stephanie Seymour was well known for dating the rock star, Axl Rose from the band Guns ‘N Roses, even appearing in one of the band’s music videos for the song “November Rain”.

Quotes:

“I wanted to be Brooke Shields, and my mother was an aspiring photographer, so I was, of course, the only one who would sit still long enough for her to get things in focus, and I loved doing that. “

“I decide what character I am. I allow myself to become another person. Because if I’m just Stephanie, I’m not comfortable. When I have to jump and do all these things, I feel so silly, but if you become someone else, it’s okay. “

“I prefer my body after I’ve had kids to before. I like a womanly, shapely figure. I’m more secure as a woman. I know who I am.”

Stephanie Seymour In Person:

Notable Work:

Chanel, Louis Vuitton, Versace, Marc Jacobs, Estée Lauder, Salvatore Ferragamo, Helmut Lang, Alessandro Dell’Acqua, Sisley, H&M, Chantelle, Gap, Loewe, and L’Oreal Paris

--

--