Tom Ford — Sexy, Cool Glamour

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readOct 19, 2016

Tom Ford is an American luxury fashion designer and a fashion brand of the same name. Tom Ford was the creative director of Gucci, starting in 1994, and Yves Saint Laurent, starting in 1999, both relationships ending in 2004. In 2006, Tom Ford launched his own line bearing his name in 2006.

Ford began his work in fashion design in earnest in the mid-80’s, while working for designer Cathy Hardwick for about two years. In 1988, he took a job with Perry Ellis, and worked for them for another two years.

In 1990, Tom Ford moved to Gucci, and became Gucci’s chief woman’s ready-to-wear designer, and he moved to Milan. Soon after he was designing menswear and shoes, and became Gucci’s design director.

In 1994, Tom Ford becaue the Creative Director for Gucci. When Gucci bought Yves Saint Laurent in 1999, he also became the brand’s Creative Director. In April 2004, Ford’s relationship with Gucci and Yves Saint Laurent ended.

In 2006, Ford launched a line bearing his name that included a line of menswear, eyewear, accessories, and beauty products.

Story of Tom Ford:

Tom Ford Quotes:

“This sounds crazy, but I know so many famous people, I’m just not intimidated by anyone. I feel really comfortable with it.”

“My customer has her own sense of style and knows herself well. My goal is to help women become the best version of themselves.”

“We live in a material world. I’m not saying that beautiful things don’t enhance our lives. But, in our culture, we’re never happy.”

“As a fashion designer, I was always aware that I was not an artist, because I was creating something that was made to be sold, marketed, used, and ultimately discarded.”

“When you are having fun and creating something you love, it shows in the product. So when a woman is sifting through a rack of clothes, somehow that piece of clothing that you had so much fun designing speaks to her; she responds to it and buys it. I believe you can actually transfer that energy to material things as you’re creating them.”

“I love to design. I am a commercial fashion designer. I always design jackets with two sleeves. I don’t design jackets with three sleeves, or the layers and layers come off like little dolls from Russia. Fashion for me is a creative endeavor, but it is not art for me.”

--

--