Yves Saint Laurent — King of Ready-to-Wear

Sasha Vonn
Fashion, Beauty, Models, Style, Trends
2 min readOct 7, 2016

Yves Saint Laurent is a French luxury fashion company founded by Yves Saint Laurent and Pierre Bergé in 1961. The brand has been associated with fashion trends such as the classic tuxedo suit for women, safari jackets, tight pants, and thigh-high boots.

In 1966 Yves Saint Laurent was the first major designer to dive into ready-to-wear, to make high fashion more accessible. In 1978 Yves Saint Laurent launched its cosmetics line. In the 80’s and early 90’s Yves Saint Laurent launched popular fragrance lines.

Soon after the fashion house was sold in 1993, the new head, Alber Elbaz launched several collections. In 1997, Pierre Bergé named Hedi Slimane as the collections and art director, and also breathed new life into YSL Rive Gauche Homme.

In 1999, Yves Saint Laurent was bought by Gucci, and appointed Tom Ford to head the ready-to-wear collection, while Saint Laurent would maintain the haute couture line.

In 2002 Yves Saint Laurent closed the couture line.

In 2004, Tom Ford left and Stefano Pilati took over the ready-to-wear line. In 2012, Hedi Slimane took over for Tom Ford as the creative director.

In 2015, the Yves Saint Laurent couture line was relaunched. Hedi Slimane left in 2016, replaced by Anthony Vaccarello.

Story of Yves Saint Laurent:

“I wish I had invented blue jeans. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity — all I hope for in my clothes.”

“We must never confuse elegance with snobbery.”

“Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.”

“Dressing is a way of life.”

“I want to thank all the women who have worn my clothes, the famous and the unknown, who have been so faithful to me and given me so much joy.”

“I couldn’t love a woman who inspired me to be totally disinterested. If I fell in love with a woman for an artistic reason, or from the point of view of my work, I think it would rob her of something.”

“A good model can advance fashion by ten years.”

--

--