Enlightened Bee Winter Lookbook

Shot in Sisters, Oregon with Emma Lawson

Enlightened Bee
Fashion Photography

--

I know I’m a little behind by the fashion industry’s standards of when a season’s work should be shared, but I’m still in my first year at this fashion accessory business and still learning the ropes. All in all, I’m really just happy to have something to show for my work over these last few hectic months. This last week has been full of reevaluating my business priorities and coming up with a game plan for 2014.

I’ve decided to take the Spring/Summer season off from designing new items and instead focus on polishing and restocking some existing inventory, designing new marketing materials, festival-going (it’s very necessary for this gypsetting creature), redesigning Enlightened Bee’s website, and reshooting some product shots in the Etsy store that have been driving me crazy for months. If all goes well, I will come out on the other side as a new and improved business owner who feels a little more prepared for whatever 2014 may bring.

But, without further ado, I’d like to show you some of the photos that I’ve been working on from the Winter Hues (slash family adventure) shoot with model, Emma Lawson (sister-in-law); creative director, Gabrielle Griffy (mother-in-law); and lighting technician (husband), Daniel Erickson. I have the best family ever. Love you all!

My favorite shots from our two day shoot were taken on a neighbor’s fence during golden hour. In some of the photos, you may be able to get glimpses of the mountains looming in the distance along the treeline.

Emma has an adorable smile and I couldn’t resist releasing the shutter every time someone made her laugh. This shot just so happened to capture her smile as well as my rings, bracelets and one of the chrysoprase earrings.
We had a hard time capturing the light during our shoot because of the trees and mountains, but a few of these shots are just dreamy to me.
I’ve been meaning to shoot these bracelets for a while now. They’re made of ruby, peridot, fresh water pearl, pyrite and 18k gold. They look beautiful stacked and can be worn with so many of my pieces. The necklace is made with red aventurine.
I’m a sucker for hazy backlit shots. They have such an ethereal quality to them. Featured here is my Pink Botswana Agate and Sterling Silver Necklace.
This photo really shows off the matching earrings to this jewelry set. You can also see more of the mountains in the background.

Emma’s eyes were so beautiful here. This shot only really shows off the bracelets and a bit of an earring, but it really helps to set the mood for the lookbook.

More red aventurine. This piece is faceted and wire wrapped by yours truly. This necklace is one of my go-to pieces that I find myself wearing quite often.
Emma’s eyes really stand out in this photo! We were going for an Ice Queen sort of feel to this one. The subtle ombre lip turned out wonderfully. There something so whimsical about this shot.
My apatite chandelier earrings at their finest! The Ice Queen is in deep contemplation (probably over how cold it was standing on ice next to a frigid creek.)

Prior to taking this, we were messing around with shots of the new rings in the snow. Some ice was left in the ring once we picked it up and Emma insisted we take a photo before it melted. I’m so glad we did!

More icy apatite. The necklace’s pendant is an antique Bedouin piece from Egypt. It was most likely created using the same lost wax casting process that I use with some of my own pendants and rings.
The Ice Queen’s enchanted forest grows shiny adornments for Her Majesty’s enjoyment. (Gabby set this shot up while I was taking some product shots. I turned around and suddenly felt like I really was in a magical Winterland.)
We told Emma to pretend to be rich an entitled, but still classy for this photo. I think she nailed it.
Poor Emma was sick on this day of shooting, but she was so determined to get through it. We didn’t shoot as long that day, fortunately. Turns out the sun goes to sleep a little early behind the mountains in Sisters.

As always, feel free to leave feedback for me in the way of comments or emails. All of these photos along with a few product shots and some landscape images taken on our roadtrip through Oregon will soon be put into proper lookbook form and available online as well as in print. I’m so excited to put them out on by vendor tables during the upcoming festival season! I’ll be updating this post with a link once it’s ready.

Much love,

Hannah Erickson

--

--