Outdoor gear

My Keen Hiking Sandals Have Been Outstanding For Me

KEEN Men’s Newport Closed-Toe Leather Sandals

Jonathan Carey
Fashion Police
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Author’s Photo: One of my better footwear purchases after yesterday’s hike.

I preface this article by saying I get nothing in return for expressing my satisfaction with this product. I just thought sharing my good fortune with these sandals may be helpful to others who love exploring the great outdoors.

Our city has a great park system with plenty of good hiking and creek walking. About five years ago I broke down and made one of my better footwear purchases.

After a ton of research, I settled on these KEEN Men’s Newport closed-toe leather sandals. They were just under $90, but worth every penny. They stay dirty most of the time but are showing limited wear even after all these years.

We generally hike at least twice a month during the spring and summer months, sometimes more. So while I’m not wearing them every day, they’re not just sitting in my closet either.

Tough, durable, and good support

Our favorite trails take us up and down hills, through rocky terrain, and then eventually lead to a stream we can walk or wade in. These sandals can handle every bit of it. They feel like breathable shoes during hikes and have changed how I handle streams. I used to take…

--

--

Jonathan Carey
Fashion Police

Husband, father, assistant principal, and coach. Story-telling Christ follower. Top Writer in Sports. Here to inspire.