Spring Cleaning — Fresh Looks for the New Season

Florals for Spring…you better believe it! Spring officially begins on March 20th, and I am here to give you the latest trends hitting the streets in the coming weeks. Get ready for your classic Spring flings with some surprising additions!

Frances May
Fashion Police
3 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

Colour Revamped

Colour is making its comeback- we’ve had a pretty gothic winter, but now Spring is on its way, I’d recommend digging out some brighter tones. From the runways to TV, I’m noticing designers favouring bright bold colours. Think pinks, blues and oranges. Maybe not too much but adding pops to your outfits will really make you shine this Spring.

Photo by Fausto García-Menéndez on Unsplash

80s Cuts

Move over Y2K: the 80s are slowly strutting back into the fashion spheres. Every day I’m seeing shoulder pads, foreshadowing a full 80s return, so be ready when it comes. Think dark blue eyeshadows to go alongside your Spring looks. For now, I’d make sure you’ve got a beautifully oversized shoulder-padded blazer in your wardrobe ready for when this trend maxes out once the Spring weather hits.

Soft Pastels

The catwalks showcased many a pastel, I’m talking soft pinks and purples. This is classic spring, but what separated these pastel tones, was the sheer see-through fabrics. So if you’re wanting something more daring and statementy I’d be taking inspiration from these looks for your Spring Collection.

Photo by Tamara Bellis on Unsplash

Pockets, yes Pockets

Urgh, dunno why. But big annoying pockets on trousers have returned from the 2010s, leaning into the giant cargo trend but now with huge pockets. I don’t really like them, but they're on trend so thought I’d at least give it a mention. For that reason, they don’t get a picture…

Silver Infusion

Every five years the silver dress makes a comeback. Remember in 2018? They’re back again, but this time with more sequins and sparkles. I love a silver dress, for me it’s a classic, and will always look fabulous. Vogue has named it “the cool girl look of the season”. You best believe I am already browsing for mine. With Beyonce’s Renaissance tour coming up, I am so ready for my silver dress festival era.

Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

Exaggerated Florals

Yes, Miranda Priestly, I know, groundbreaking. However, Spring is about wearing florals, it’s the only time of year I actually care about wearing a lovely flowery top because HEY IT’S SPRING! The designers have got creative this season and have attached giant 3D flowers to their collections, leaning into the trend of the ridiculous. I am curious as to how this is going to translate over into the mainstream, but I guess time will tell…

And altogether…

So there you have it my overview of what is to come this Spring. The words that are coming to mind are demure, classic and colourful. This gives us a lot to play with, by mixing these bright colours and pastel tones into the Y2K cuts- get ready for a fabulously joyous Spring!

--

--

Frances May
Fashion Police

I'm an experienced Trend Analyst and Freelance Actor. These are my musings on fashion and life; brought to you with humour and the odd pop culture anecdote. ..