Vintage Fashion for Beginners.

CJ Alexander
2 min readFeb 10, 2024

--

How to start building your vintage wardrobe and become good at it.

Photo by Hayffield L on Unsplash

Just over a year ago, I became obsessed with vintage fashion, especially from the seventies. You fall in love with a certain style or era , and the hunt begins to change your wardrobe. For most people it takes years to collect a vintage inspired collection. But, with a few items, you can make a start.

I started my search on Etsy, local thriftshops and later on I discovered more vintage webshops and markets in big cities like Amsterdam, Groningen and Brussels.

I found my inspiration and ideas on Pinterest. Discovering accessories, dagger collar blouses, band shirts, different sunglasses, flared pants and 70 style sneakers.

Recently I bought a red leather jacket in an online vintage shop, inspired by someone on Instagram.

Photo by Gabriel Meinert on Unsplash

Now I’m looking at how to style it. Accessories make it easier to create a certain look on a budget. Like a bandana, for example. Or bracelets, big earrings, pearls, or vintage sunglasses.

Whatever style you are wearing, rockabilly or classy vintage, do what you love and wear what makes you comfortable. That is the most important.

Remember, you got the look and you will rock it!!

Photo by Sarah Crego on Unsplash

--

--

CJ Alexander

Creating content once in a while, other than that I practise on my bassguitar, ride my bike and care for a familymember with dementia.