Let me tell ya “BOTA” eye serum

The skin calming powers of CBD!

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee
5 min readApr 30, 2020

--

Get ready for your skin to change, RIGHT BELOW YOUR VERY EYES. 😏

I was already on my way to not wearing concealer anymore, but I wanted to help my skin out a bit more. I never thought I’d find myself wearing an eye serum regularly, but here we are. Did the perfect eye serum exist? Would there really be a difference in my skin?

Did you ever hear of a product that does exactly what it says it’s going to do? I’ve tried other eye creams/serums before and all encounters kind of ended like a bad date: dull, and not much to go brag about over wine with your bestie. That is, until Bota came along and truly swept me off my feet. Nothing but good things to say about the “BOTA CBD Calming & Balancing Eye Serum” I found while searching high and low at Ulta. This wasn’t recommended to me by anyone. I literally searched so many different brands one day. I probably looked really strange too. There I am standing in an aisle. I’m holding a product, staring at the ingredients and going back and forth between the product and my phone to look up certain ingredients making sure the product is as clean as possible. Then I came across this little container. I can’t recommend this serum enough. The ingredient list is beautiful. It isn’t a long list at all, which is something I look out for too. If the list goes on and on full of words I can barely pronounce, you lost me. One ingredient I was interested in was “CBD” or “Cannabidiol” extract which, if you couldn’t guess by the name alone, is one of the main ingredients.

I don’t know if I would call myself a skeptic, per say, but I was definitely one of those, “what’s all the hype about” when it comes to CBD. It’s literally everywhere now. The skincare world is oozing with it. Once I came across this, I saw the rave reviews on Ulta, and thought to myself, is it too good to be true? I had to try for myself and know for sure. Since I have an Ulta store nearby, I could always return it. I have no problem going back at this point. It would be the upteenth time since fall 2019 (if you haven’t already read my struggle story with concealer, please go indulge).

The price point with this is a little high at $24.99 for 0.5oz, but, totally worth it for the results I received. I struggled so much with dry, patchy, dermatitis under my eyes. I thought there was no hope, until BOTA. The consistency is very watery (something I wish I knew before-hand, because what a mess it was when I first opened the lid). I guess that would be my one complaint. The container is a little tub with a screw top lid. It would probably fair much better in a pump bottle. This isn’t a deal breaker at all because I noticed amazing results with this after about two to three uses. I apply it with a cotton-tipped applicator at night after cleansing my skin. One or two quick swipes and done! It’s nice and cool as it goes on, and absorbs beautifully. My skin felt refreshed. My dermatitis has gone down substantially. My eyes have more of an awake feel/look, and I also noticed brightness to my dark circles! Shut the front door! Where has this been all my life? Who would have thought that taking a chance on a product I heard nothing about would work out so well?

I continue to use this daily in my nighttime skincare regimen, and I am actually on my second tub!

Pros/Cons?

Con: The smell (which I believe may be due to the hemp ingredient) is very earthy. It’s not a “pretty” smell, but that’s fine by me because a lot of the time (not always) “pretty” smells in skincare/beauty products could be artificial. ARTIFICIAL FRAGRANCE IS A SKINCARE NO NO!

Pro: Speaking of ingredients, according to this product description of key ingredients on Ulta’s site: “Non-GMO CBD — beneficial for all skin types, balances oil production without clogging pores and acts as a powerful anti-inflammatory agent that encourages cell regeneration”. The product is also free of parabens, sulfates, fragrance and gluten! These are things I love to see!

Con: The consistency, as mentioned above is SO watery. I don’t completely hate this at all, but I guess it does fall in the con category.

Pro: THE AMAZING BENEFITS. My skin feels so great. I barely have irritation under my eyes anymore. Any fine lines have been minimized quite a bit. It’s like magic.

Con: Price point as mentioned above is a little steep. I do see why it is priced like that, and since it does work so well, I will re-purchase.

So if I was a skeptic, I guess I’m CBD believer now because this product really just changed the whole game for me with under eye products!

Gettin’ up close and personal (no makeup, messy hair — oof) to show you my UN-EDITED and UNBOTHERED under eyes. The overall improvement is just insane. I truly wish I had before pictures. Sorry guys! Please excuse the dried paint on my shirt. Damn, I’m just a mess, but at least BOTA got me.

--

--

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee

I’m a simple Jersey Girl. I enjoy mom and pop shops, especially if I can get a good cup of a coffee. This is where I tell my story. ❤