Slowly Diving “Into the Gloss”

My journey with the infamous, Glossier

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee

--

It all started with a Christmas gift from A.J.’s brother, Kyle (thanks, dude). I got this cool ziploc bag that was lined with bubble wrap to perfectly cushion three products and some other goodies — including some scratch and sniff stickers! I’m a child again. Check ’em out!

The three products include a lip balm: “Cherry Balm Dotcom” (how can you go wrong with that name?); Mega Greens Galaxy Pack (detoxifying face mask) — on Glossier’s website it cleverly projects “For when you’re feeling dirty”, well played; and lastly, my personal fave, “Boy Brow”, which is described as a brow “pomade”, and I mean, how cool is it to think you’re using a pomade to really sculpt those babies instead of a boring old gel?

Basically, Em, you know what you’re doing. Who’s Em? Is it okay for me to even refer to Emily Weiss, founder of Glossier that way? I should probably be calling her Queen because she KILLED the beauty product game.

These three products don’t have much to do with the other, but are truly perfect starter pack for someone like myself who’s never dabbled much with Glossier. The appetizer before the main course.

By using these, I really get a bit of a feel for what the brand is all about. I feel like I get to know Emily Weiss better, and judging by the description by Alyssa Giacobbe in Entrepreneur, “She’s a thoroughly millennial girlboss in jeans, sneakers and a royal blue sweatshirt with weiss embroidered in small white script. Her hair is pulled back in a ponytail, and for the founder of a beauty products company, she wears notably little makeup;” She sounds pretty f*cking cool.

“You read about her and want to be her friend.”

What I’ve concluded is that the basis of their products and what they stand for lines up quite a bit with what I look for in any beauty product: something that works!

Because, isn’t that what we ALL want? I sit here typing away thinking about the lip balm (Cherry Balm Dotcom) I currently have on for the last two hours thinking how it really makes my lips feel fantastic. It’s a lip balm that comes in a similar tube that rivals that of most acrylic paints (my inner painter is beaming). The balm glides on effortlessly with a swipe of your finger. It tints, but doesn’t weigh heavy, so you don’t look like you just smeered a cherry ice-pop all over your pout. Point blank: it’s something so simple, and it does the trick!

I became fascinated with Emily’s history. How the hell did this girl do it? She truly is an inspiration for young individuals such as myself. What amazed me was the fact that she was so persistent in learning. Learning more about what people looked for in their beauty products. She created her blog, “Into The Gloss” with the goal to close in on what people wanted to put on their skin. Being a huge skincare advocate myself, I was blown away. The more I learned about her, the more I felt like we’ve been friends for years.

Let me chat a little about my fave product: boy brow. The name alone is great. I remember taking it out of the cute little baggy, thinking…yes! Just look at the label. There are no gimicks here. No extra wording on the tube to confuse the sh!t out of you. Just “Glossier” and “boy brow”. I remember first putting it on a little skeptical. Was it going to be clumpy or just way to dark — making my brows look like angry caterpillars? As I applied it, I was so relieved to see how beautifully it transformed my brows. It feels as though you are applying a lot, but in reality, it’s just enough. I fell in love.

I may not have much to say in regards to the face mask (other than the fact that A.J. and I had some fun getting these shots), but quite frankly, it’s because I don’t use face masks so often. I wish I could be that chick that sips wine by the fire while her face mask deep cleans her pores, but I either don’t have time, or I’m not patient enough for it. I have used this galaxy mask though, and it goes on smooth. The consistency is great because it covers nicely without much product. Will I use again? Absolutely! Just let me pour myself a glass first…

In the end, Glossier, you’ve managed to win me over with just three products. My next product to try would be the “Milky Jelly Cleanser” and I mean, after watching Emily Weiss herself use the product so effortlessly, how does one not try it out?! See for yourself! 👇🏼

Are you slowly diving “Into The Gloss” too? Or are you fully immersed in everything it has to offer? Drop a comment!

--

--

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee

I’m a simple Jersey Girl. I enjoy mom and pop shops, especially if I can get a good cup of a coffee. This is where I tell my story. ❤