Why You Should Throw Out Your Old Razor Right Now.

Don’t worry, Billie’s got you.

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee
7 min readMar 5, 2019

--

That’s right, throw away whatever razor it is that you have laying on your shower caddy living its best life. And I’m not just talking the regular “throw-a-ways,” I’m talking commercialized brand as well!

Why, you ask? Because I recently discovered there is more out there in this wonderful world of shaving. The internet, more specifically social media, plasters new products out there like fresh paint on walls. Our eager eyes take notice of the pretty color scheme of an instagram page, or clever packaging of a product, BUT do we give in, and give it a shot? Is it just hype? Will we regret this, or will our lives and legs be forever changed? If you’re ANYTHING like me, you don’t like the idea of subscriptions. Subscribing to something, anything, actually gives me anxiety. AHHH committment. JK guys, I’m getting married, no commitment issues here — LOL. Basically, I don’t want to deal with the possibility of not being able to cancel, so, before I dive into anything I have to make sure it’s a good idea — well, as much as I can anyway.

Soooo I randomly decided it was time for a new razor. Why? (So many questions in this blog post) Well, I’ll show you why…(viewer discretion is advised)

Ew, I know.

WHAT EVEN IS THAT ON THE TOP BY THE WHITE BUTTON? UGH.

It’s a no brainer guys. We want to feel clean while shaving.

I am embarrassed to even say that I owned that. Now, nothing against Schick Hydro. This baby really came through for years. It shaves pretty well, without much effort. I know what you guys are already thinking. “Lisa, did you ever consider getting a new razor (not just the blade refills)?” Yes! I not only considered, but I went a step further and bought one. My old Schick was lookin pretty gnarly as well, which is what triggered me to ditch it and start over fresh with a new one. Now seeing that there is a pattern here, I’m just pretty grossed out. I don’t want a razor to have this shit/gunk/whatever you want to call it just chillin there — FESTERING. Not only that, but hair even collects in there as well! WHAT THE? NO.

It’s a no brainer guys. We want to feel clean while shaving. We’re putting a blade to our skin and effectively making small (not always visible) cuts while gliding across. This leaves our body open to whatever bacteria/germs want to invite themselves. I am NOT about to lay out a welcome mat!

Cleanliness and hygiene are of utmost importance to me next to price, so let’s talk $$$ shall we? One of these razors with the blade head included costs $15.98 on Schick’s website. Although the price varies, you should be able to get it for less at walmart, which is where I always purchased mine. Then we have to consider the blade refills. Whenever I went to Walmart, I heard my wallet cry a little when I had to drop about $17 for a pack of 4 blade refills. Something’s gotta give.

Now, I’d like to introduce a brand I’ve seen pop up on my instagram feed a few times here and there. Ladies and gents, meet Billie.

Billie is your skin’s new best friend.

Let’s talk Billie. As previously mentioned, the brand’s instagram page had popped up a couple of times during my many times of scrolling through. I finally decided to dive deeper into what the brand was all about. The page itself is so cute. It’s got all the hype I was talking about — Pretty pastels in all the pictures, even the name itself was pleasing to the eye. I was clearly their target audience, BUT I wasn't going to give in just yet.

I perused both instagram and their website as well, and came to understand a few things: Clicking on their website link brings you to a bunch of short clips involving body hair. One girl was even combing her armpits. Interesting. I found it intriguing that a razor brand portrays body hair this way along with the slogan “Razors Built for Womankind.” Girl power! Nice! Remember those commercials where every woman’s body is glistening in the sun, giving pretty much the unrealistic portrayal of the female body? Yeah those were fun to watch. I don’t know about you, but my body never looks like a shiney, slip and slide when I’m done shaving.

Look at the adorable packaging

I really am one for simple, clean packaging, no matter the product. If you look closely at the second pic, the small zip-loc looking package says “A holder for your handle (it’s magical),” which I really enjoyed. Not just the packaging, but uhh yeah, the holder itself! You’ll notice in the first picture above where it’s on the wall, it appears to be floating effortlessly, that’s because it has a magnetic holder underneath! I loved this idea the most! I couldn’t tell you how annoying it was to just leave my razor laying on my hanging shower caddy/basket/whatchamacallit. This magnetic holder has been holding up nicely so far!

Okay, okay, but what about the razor?! As pictured, the razor as a whole is fairly light-weight, but still substantial enough so it’s not falling out of your hand while doing the damn thing. There are different pastel colors to choose from, which is fun. I went with coral. It speaks to me. Check them out and see which one speaks to you, if that’s a thing. The razor head itself has 5 blades with aloe soap around all 5 blades — neat. I also decided to purchase the shaving cream because I’ve been on the hunt for a cream that was paraben, sulfate, and artificial fragrance FREE and this cream was just that!

Now, how does it work? Well, it is a subscription! So, everything pictured above is what I got for a total of $17. Normally, if getting just a starter kit, it’s $9 for a razor with two 5-blade razor cartridges, and the magnetic holder. After this purchase, Billie is set up to deliver 4 new cartridges for $9 at a customized frequency. I have it set up to deliver every 2 months — meaning I’m paying $9 every 2 months for 4 cartridges. The reason my initial purchase was $17 was because I added the shave cream, I couldn’t pass it up!

I already used the razor and cream a few times, and here is what I noticed:

  1. The handle is easy to hold and I can maneuver the razor without much trouble. This is important, I have coarse, dark, hair — I need a razor that will hold up!
  2. I enjoy the lotion around the blades, however, I feel it was difficult to get a close shave the first time using the new cartridge — had to press more, which does concern me a bit. (this could be because I have to get used to this new razor)
  3. The shave cream was light-weight, but balanced, providing a good lather. It did not irritate my skin. It has a clean, natural scent.
  4. As previously mentioned, I love love LOVE the magnetic holder! It’s just more sanitary, in my opinion.
  5. I really like that, unlike my previous razor, I don’t really see an area for gross shit to get stuck in, ya feel me? There’s no bubble of hell near the head of the razor. LAWD, YES.
fun fact: this is a selfie using my tri-pod! hee hee

So, what's the verdict? Billie, you done good kid. I’m thoroughly content with my purchase at this time. I like the idea of not dropping so much money on new cartridges for my razor! Only $9 every 2 months, AND you get 4 of them? Yeah, I’ll take it. Is it the best razor I’ve used, hmmm. I can’t say the best, but this item is still fairly new to me, so I’m going to keep with it for a while and see how it goes. I do like paying less and the brand itself is adorable, but I can’t help but feel if it’s a “ya get what you pay for” type of deal. Am I missing out on a better product because I don’t want to pay more for it? Too soon to tell, and too soon to give up on my friend, Billie! I look forward to seeing how Billie treats me for a while longer!

Have you tried this brand, or maybe a different razor brand? Maybe one where you had to subscribe? Did you take the leap? Let ya girl know on twitter!

Fashionablee yours ❤

Lisa

--

--

Lisa Cangialosi
FashionabLee

I’m a simple Jersey Girl. I enjoy mom and pop shops, especially if I can get a good cup of a coffee. This is where I tell my story. ❤