Apple’s New Phones Are Impressive. But I’ll Stick With My iPhone 6S.

The best way to be a responsible consumer of electronics is to just use what you have — and older Apple products work so well that it isn’t even a burden

Fast Company
Fast Company

--

By Katharine Schwab

Apple doesn’t want you to believe that sometimes older is better.

At today’s annual launch event, the company’s executives extolled all the specs and features of the next generation of iPhones, emphasizing how much faster and more powerful the iPhone 11 and the iPhone 11 Pro are. But while the new phones are impressive, there wasn’t a single feature or upgrade that convinced me to give up my trusty iPhone 6S, which was announced four years (and one day) ago. For all the marketing hoopla on display at an event like this, the company’s products make it easy to decide to keep what you already have.

I’ve had my iPhone 6S for more than three years, upgrading only after my previously beloved iPhone 4 met its end when I accidentally doused it with water. Instead of ditching the 6S when the battery started to flag last year, I simply replaced the battery, and so the phone feels almost good as new.

--

--

Fast Company
Fast Company

Official Medium account for the Fast Company business media brand; inspiring readers to think beyond traditional boundaries & create the future of business.