This Graph Shows What It’s Actually Like to Be a Freelancer

Switching careers meant fundamentally changing my relationship with money. Here’s how I’ve adjusted to having a salary that fluctuates so much.

Fast Company
Fast Company

--

Photo: Sean Gladwell/Moment/Getty Images

By Jared Lindzon

Though it may look like a crude drawing of a mountain range, this is actually a graph that represents my salary as a freelance journalist, starting from the day I quit my full-time job in January 2013, right up until the end of June 2019.

While the wide swings between peaks and valleys might induce severe anxiety in some, to me (and millions of other freelancers out there) they represent boundless opportunity, complete autonomy, and believe it or not, job security. Okay, and maybe a little anxiety too, but it’s a small price to pay.

My salary. Screenshot: Jared Lindzon

As a freelance journalist I’ve outearned what I expected to make in this struggling industry, and in an era of unprecedented downsizing, it would take about a dozen strangers around the world banding together to cut me loose all at once for my income to disappear entirely.

--

--

Fast Company
Fast Company

Official Medium account for the Fast Company business media brand; inspiring readers to think beyond traditional boundaries & create the future of business.