What I Learned As A Liberal Lesbian At Fox News

Sally Kohn was a left-leaning commentator on the right-wing network. “It taught me that no one is the embodiment of their worst stereotype.”

Fast Company
Fast Company

--

[Photo: Isabelle OHara/Shutterstock]

BY SALLY KOHN

This story reflects the views of this author, but not necessarily the editorial position of Fast Company.

From 2010 to 2013, I was a gay, liberal commentator at Fox News. I wasn’t technically the only left-wing lesbian on Fox at the time. There was one other (that I knew of, anyway)–but I was definitely more left-wing, and maybe more obvious about being a lesbian, too. The point is, during the two-and-a-half years I worked at Fox News, I was certainly in the minority. Here’s what that experience taught me.

EVERYBODY STEREOTYPES

Despite what you might think, the staff at Fox News is not 100% ultraconservative. Like most media organizations headquartered in New York City, many of its employees are urban and urbane liberals–maybe slightly more conservative-leaning than at other outfits, but far from atypical among tri-state-area media professionals.

On the other hand, there are definitely do-gooders within institutions who see themselves making a difference from the inside…

--

--

Fast Company
Fast Company

Official Medium account for the Fast Company business media brand; inspiring readers to think beyond traditional boundaries & create the future of business.