What I Learned From Building 5 Companies in 5 Totally Different Industries

The lessons I learned can be used by anyone who’s looking to explore a new opportunity outside their current field

Fast Company
Fast Company

--

By Ben Lamm

As teenagers, we are asked to decide which field we would like to pursue — ostensibly for the rest of our working lives. Our college major or the first few jobs we take often become the label that the world uses to describe us. This can be incredibly frustrating for those of us who are seeking new job opportunities and are told we do not have the experience that a new role in a different industry requires.

My background is in accounting and finance; yet, over the course of my career, I have created five different companies (and sold three to publicly traded companies) in vastly different industries, such as technology consulting, gaming, and conversational AI. I strongly believe we should follow our passions rather than our degrees, which is why I created my current company Hypergiant, an AI products and services company that solves the biggest problems of today and tomorrow. This couldn’t be further from my formal training.

In my experience moving among industries, I’ve found there are certain steps that can be taken to make the transition…

--

--

Fast Company
Fast Company

Official Medium account for the Fast Company business media brand; inspiring readers to think beyond traditional boundaries & create the future of business.