PhD in Focus: Richard Thorpe

Alix Coates
FASTlab
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2020

PhD in Focus is a FASTLab Blog Series aimed at engaging the wider community with SOCI PhD Projects and their talented creators.

RICHARD THORPE

Which FASTLab projects are you working on right now?

I am currently five months into my PhD project. My area of research is exploring the design of virtual reality apps for wellbeing, and aims to develop a virtual reality intervention to help university students overcome exam anxiety.

What is innovative about your research?

Previous researchers have explored design frameworks which integrate technology design with positive psychology. Positive psychology is the science of optimal human functioning, also known as flourishing. My research is investigating how to integrate a different psychological theory; psychological flexibility, to technology design. It is innovative because thus far, using this theory in the design of VR is unchartered territory.

What are the big issues you face in your research?

This project is transdisciplinary, spanning computing (VR), design, and psychology. I have a background in technology and am a psychologist by profession, so I understand most of the technology and psychology issues. The biggest issue I currently face is getting up to speed on the design literature, research methodologies, as well as ethics.

Can you apply the findings of this research to your teaching practices?

I am hoping that the research will be of benefit immediately to students, and to my clients who have challenges with exam anxiety.

How important is it that this research has real-world applications?

It is fundamental to me that my research has real-world application, and I hope that my research will be applied to many other applications, both by myself and others.

Who/what has been the biggest influence on your research practice?

My friend and colleague, Dr Cate France, a clinical psychologist at UoN helped to keep me grounded, focused, and motivated.

If you had unlimited resources for research and development, what project would you most like to pursue?

The most significant problem we face is that of the climate emergency, and I see climate scepticism in politics as one of the biggest obstacles of progress in tackling climate change. If I had the resources and means, I would love to pursue understanding this phenomena and developing solutions …… fast !

Photo by Lux Interaction

--

--

Alix Coates
FASTlab
Editor for

Project Assistant at the University of Newcastle, Australia.