3 days to go: World Record attempt in a business suit

Mike Tozer
fastsuitguy
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2016

On July 31, I will attempting to break the world record for the fastest half marathon in a business suit at the Blacktown Running festival.

This will be the second time I have attempted this record after agonisingly missing out by seconds in May. At the Sydney Half Marathon I was just 27 seconds behind current record holder, Scott Forbes, who had broken the record the previous month.

I’m doing this to raise awareness of fragile X, the most common genetic cause of autism. I experience this condition daily as my son, Josiah, has Fragile X.

For me this suit is a metaphor for the condition. Running with the suit is like having someone pushing back and down on your shoulders. It’s tough. It holds you back. But it’s nothing compared to the daily challenges faced by those with fragile X.

This record has been broken four times in the last year, with the current record of 1 hr 18 min 13 seconds. My last attempt was 1 hr 18 min 40 seconds. But with a personal best without a suit of 1 hr 16 min 46 seconds I am confident that a better race strategy will allow me to run under 1 hour 18 minutes.

Last time my way-too-fast start drastically affected me in the final 2 miles, when I slowed right down, a mistake I am determined to avoid this time. In a way it is a bit like life with fragile X. You just have to accept that you have to go at a different pace.

I’m very grateful to Bonham Strand, a Hong Kong social enterprise tailor, who are sponsoring my suit, and to Brooks, my shoe sponsor for the past 3 years.

– -

For more about fragile X in Australia see:

Fragile X Association of Australia: http://www.fragilex.org.au

and in Hong Kong see: Fragile X HK: http://www.fragilexhk.org

--

--