5 tips for getting a tailored suit

Mike Tozer
fastsuitguy
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2016

So I’ve just arrived back in Sydney after a short trip to Hong Kong. I was there for meetings but also found time to get my suit fitted at a tailor called Bonham Strand. It was quite an experience!

Bonham Strand are very generously sponsoring me the suit for my world record attempt at the half marathon. I went in for an initial fitting, then two more visits afterwards. So, what did I learn?

1. Think through your preferences beforehand

I was asked a lot of questions about what I wanted in the suit and it helped to have thought through my preferences in advance.

There were broad questions about the suit colour or the type material but also very specific questions regarding the style of buttons or the cut of the collar. The more you have decided in advance the more the end product will be what you want.

Of course, some of the detail can be worked out in discussion with the tailor. However, having at least a broad idea in advance helped make it a smooth process.

2. Do your homework.

If you are not sure what you want, or what to refine your ideas, do some research before the fitting. I focused my research on finding out what makes a good suit for hot weather as well as the breathability and weight of materials. I talked to others who have lived in hot climates and those who have had tailored suits and also read some magazine articles about these topics.

This helped give me a better idea of what the options were and what I wanted.

3. Be open to suggestions.

Of course, you don’t want to come into the tailors with such a fixed idea that you aren’t open to advice. The people I worked with had a lot of experience and also had spoken with many customers about their feedback. It was really helpful to share my ideas with them and work together to decide what would work best.

When I first went in, I was thinking of getting some lyrca added into the material. I’d heard that this was an option to make the suit more flexible. However, the tailor said that some customers complained that the lyrca made the suit too hot especially in humid Hong Kong. If people find it hot when walking, I imagine it would be really uncomfortable when running! Instead, the tailor suggested we add a little more room in the trousers to allow my legs to move without using Lycra, and I went with that idea.

4. Allow yourself extra time

Getting a tailored suit is a process that really can’t be rushed. With all the questions to work through, decisions to make and so many specific measurements to take it is quite a process, so don’t expect to be out of there in 15 minutes.

Also, it usually takes multiple visits. I was in 3 times in total over 10 days.

5. Enjoy the process!

Above all, enjoy it! It’s not every day you get to have a suit fitted.

I can’t talk highly enough about Bonham Strand. Everyone I dealt with there was so helpful and supportive of my crazy record attempt. I’m so grateful that they are getting behind me in this.

I am excited to see how much money and awareness we can raise for fragile X through their support.

--

--