The moment

Mike Tozer
fastsuitguy
Published in
2 min readJul 31, 2016

There’s so much I could share about today’s record attempt. I’ve got a half written post boring you all with an overly-detailed description of the record-breaking race.

But for now I’ll just share the moment when I found out my time of 1:18:10.

Photo captured so aptly by Drew Grigg (Yet Another Idea))

I was so excited that I spun round to tell my other half and almost kicked over the large flatscreen TV that was next to me! As it was I managed to pull out the cable with my foot.

It was an awesome feeling realising I had done it. Especially after the low of thinking that I hadn’t made it, after I was initially told the wrong time. It made all the planning, all the training, all the sweating through that suit worthwhile.

What. A. Day.

OK. I’ll share one more moment. So many people were interested to chat after the race. One couple, similar age to my parents, whose son was running, said they had seen me in the Blacktown paper last week. They said they had never heard of fragile X and wanted to know more. They also asked if my son was at the race and I said we had to leave him at home.

The question reminded me of how difficult it is to take our son to events like this one that have lots of people, in a new place for an extended amount of time. His anxiety just makes it really impossible. So, it saddened me to remember that. But it was also a reminder of why we took on this whole record attempt: to help raise awareness and hopefully improve lives for other families living with fragile X.

I use ‘we’ very intentionally. Today was most definitely a team effort. And thanks to the whole team, WE did it!

--

--