Lessons Learned #3

Himal Mathew
Fathom Strategies
Published in
1 min readFeb 24, 2021

I was asked recently if I would share lessons I have learned in 40 years of working, and in particular, the last 20+ years as an entrepreneur. I thought I would share some of those with you, over the coming weeks or months. These are not in any particular order, I hope you enjoy.

Lesson #3: Be The Observer

It is not always easy, but it can be helpful in many situations, particularly in high-pressure situations, including conflict, to try to step outside yourself. What do I mean by that? I mean to try to see whatever is happening as though you were observing it and not participating in it. If it were a scene in a movie that you were watching, with some physical and emotional distance between you and the screen, what would it look like? How would it feel? What might you observe about how the characters are interacting? How might you see each of them and their motives differently? What advice would you give your character? How would you describe the scene to a third party? That little bit of space that you create in the process will often provide clarity, perspective, and a sense of calm, leading to better outcomes. Try practicing it, it will get easier and you just might surprise yourself with the results.

--

--