One day. Two banks. Two completely different experiences.

Himal Mathew
Fathom Strategies
Published in
1 min readSep 20, 2019

One day. Two banks. Two completely different experiences.

Yesterday I went to one of Canada’s big banks at King & Bay and asked to close all my accounts. I was there for about 45 minutes going through the process. During that time I interacted with a very helpful teller and a number of managers whose approvals were needed on various forms. Until recently, I was in the top tier of this bank’s customers. Not one person, not one, asked me why I was closing my accounts, or what they could do to save my business. The energy level of the people I encountered was low, and over the course of 45 minutes I didn’t observe many staff who seemed to be enjoying their work.

I also went to my main banking institution, also at King & Bay, where the staff are almost always smiling, asking how they can help, and consistently go out of their way to engage with customers.

The difference in culture was palpable. If culture is driven from the top, then the executive at the first bank must not be paying attention. And I have to think that their retail business will pay a price for it.

Culture is strategic. It is a key competitive lever. It cannot be taken for granted. It can be built intentionally and measured. Ignore it at your peril.

--

--