I don’t know how to eat properly

Bahadir Cambel
Fatman to fitman
Published in
4 min readJan 19, 2016

When the surge comes in, you are enjoying it, you want it more and more. That feeling, you think, will never go and it is an ongoing smaller scale orgasm for 20(or 5) something minutes.

If I prepared a sandwich, and if I don’t use any fork and knife, I would finish it so quickly that I don’t even understand what just happened. I intentionally eat my sandwiches with f&k but I don’t do it all the time. It shouldn’t be that hard, but is it ?

Being consistent is hard. I do wonder if there is any correlation between (quit)smoking and your self-control mechanism. It’s sometimes so easy to getting caught in the moment, I just let it go. Or is it just an excuse ?

I don’t eat food to have pleasure

Anton Krupicka said “I don’t eat food to have pleasure” sounds like a good strategy. He is one of the top ultra-marathoner in the world who can run 160K (100 miles) and takes care of his diet. He is my favorite Hippie. He truly is an amazing spirit.

In 2014, I have lost around 17 kilograms(37+ lbs) in approx. 4 months. I was smoking at the time. Boy, I was so dedicated to the diet, the more results I got, the more I committed. I remember to this day, almost everyday, I would be standing in front of the mirror, looking at myself, and thinking, boy did I look great or what ? That feeling of accomplishment.

Can you imagine, eating the same lunch for months ? At some point of time, I have completely stop eating, just a quick bite and throw myself out of the office to have a walk around the beautiful Amsterdam. At the time I thought it would be very beneficial to walk 30+ mins to burn extra calories, keep the body moving. It has a lot of disadvantages to sit down 5–6 hours everyday to do the work.(programmer)

But how was all started ? That’s the key thing. I had a break-up. I was pissed and I told to myself, you gotta lose this fat dude, so I started. I was vicious, desperate, needed the results as soon as possible (no, not that way, no cheating).

After a month, once the results were obviously visible to me and to everyone, all of my friends, people that I rarely see, they will all comment on how slim do I look and how impressive it is. I think I just found my daily boost of ego. Yay! The world is mine! I was smiling much more. Happy to be honest. Feeling great. Yes. I did it I said to myself.

Started from 95 kilos, at the 82th kilo, I hit a wall. I don’t remember exactly if I was being sloppy and eating more, or losing weight was slowed down ( probably me being sloppy), I got lucky and got sick. I dropped to 79. Wow! The lowest number that I saw at the time was 78 afterwards.

Then, I decided to quit smoking. It was already my goal to quit smoking after losing some weigh and I started to get loose, eating whatever I want, whenever I want.

Averaging 3 kilos per month, I put my kilos back to my body in 6 months. But let me tell you this, it wasn’t normal. I was craving for sugar. I do believe to this day, it was a depression. Chocolate would calm me down. I do remember calling my housemate, and asking to buy me some chocolate, 5–6 of them. I ate a lot of chocolate at the time. I was desperate, didn’t know exactly how to deal with it. It seemed like chocolate was my cure. But was it ?

After reading a lot of things related to quitting smoking, I discovered drinking a lot of coffee causing palpitation a lot, and to suppress that I would eat chocolate. I thought the sole reason was quitting, but it is a combined effect. I started to read forums, read papers, articles, American Health society leaflets, and I have realized what I was doing wrong. It was common to see depression in people who quit smoking after being addicted for years. The solution was very simple. Caffeine, nicotine, and sugar. All those work together. And this is what they don’t tell you my friend.

Cut the coffee, stop eating chocolate, go out, have fresh air, breath deeply, and walk. And one guy on the forums wrote;

To this day, since I stopped smoking 20 years ago, the only way I found that makes things easier was……… Running

Hello my dear friend, running. After the day I read the above message, my life has changed, became easier to cope with a ex-addict life. Things become normal, I was back in the control seat, kinda.

You have to have a goal. My next ultra goal is running the 2016 Laugavegur Ultra Marathon. Check out the website

Laugavegur

Appreciation is born through struggle.

--

--

Bahadir Cambel
Fatman to fitman

(Ultra)Runner — Distributed Software/Data/ML engineer, Clojure & Python craftsman. Built a recsys