The False Morality of ‘Clean Eating’

My journey to a fatkini begins with my first two-piece swimsuit

Rachael Hope
Fattitude

--

Photo: Representation Matters

Despite the fact that the swimsuit bottom I wanted was already sold out in mid-May, ‘beach body’ season is just ramping up. After the reprieve of gloomy spring showers, Memorial Day signals the beginning of sprinkler, river, and beach season in the Pacific Northwest.

I had big ideas about what it was going to be like in 2019. In January, I prepared myself- I knew the deluge was coming.

Diet posts, Whole 30 posts, boot camps, exercise, eating ‘right,’ pictures of salads- so many salads- and on and on. It was just a short skip-jump to now, when the sun starts to shine and the buzzword shifts from ‘resolutions’ to ‘beach bodies.’

This was going to be the year that I pushed back.

I would banish the implication that I must have forgotten I was too fat to ever be happy, and that if I loved myself I’d join a gym and eat some lettuce. I would block liberally and un-follow often, reclaiming…

--

--

Rachael Hope
Fattitude

Polyamorous, loud laughing unapologetic feminist, rad fatty, and epic sweet tooth.